Skip to content

estimation

December 8, 2008
tags: ,

measuring1In the last week I’ve cooked, from scratch…

…lemon poppyseed cake, bean soup, brownies (I don’t believe I’ve ever done that before…so easy), various roast vegetable dishes, and a mushroom quiche (crust and filling, both from scratch).

All without the aid of measuring cups or spoons. Because I don’t have any. I haven’t for about a year now. When I mentioned that to Paul, he had no idea we didn’t own any. Paul doesn’t cook things that aren’t pasta, canned soup, or frozen (no offense baby). And while it kind of stokes my ego that I can pull of cooking without them, after reading Julia’s Kitchen I’d like to try and cook some more elaborate dishes. And Julia Child would not have approved of my lack of measuring devices.

Any suggestions for cute or practical measuring cups & spoons?

The ones up top, from Anthropologie, are adorable, though I’m not sure I want to sacrifice more counter space to them. They do nest though. Hummmm…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    December 8, 2008 7:04 pm

    i think i’ve seen paul prepare enchiladas…but he may have had assistance. in the land of measuring utensils, anthropologie used to have brightly colored sets that nest by a company called “biscuit”. i also like the baking set that I think calphalon makes — they are metal but with a (pink!) rubberized grip and shaped so that they actually fit into flour and sugar cannisters for scooping…

  2. December 8, 2008 10:17 pm

    I am hugely impressed that you made a cake sans measuring cups. If you want to get into technical baking, a kitchen scale is super key.

  3. December 10, 2008 3:53 pm

    I think these geese measuring cups from Anthropologie are also adorable and thought you might like them! http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=78703

Leave a Reply

