Skip to content

visitors

December 29, 2008

The last few days P’s mom and stepdad have been in town celebrating a late Christmas.  On Saturday night we exchanged gifts…

Blocking their Christmas quilt

Blocking their Christmas quilt

I love the buttons, left on from the sweater I used.

I love the buttons, left on from the sweater I used.

Yesterday morning we went to the under the freeway farmer’s market (we go every weekend). It’s pretty void of organic produce this time of year, but we picked up a few things–greens, persimmons, yams, bread, eggs, and cheese.

The afternoon was spent wine tasting, picnicking, and taking a walk in Amador County.

Faces at Youngs Winery

Faces at Young's Winery

We made dinner at our house (potato leek soup from The Art of Simple Food) and I managed to actually let someone else in the kitchen while I was cooking dinner.  I’m sort of a control freak about the kitchen…Paul and I take turns doing things in it, or he sits at the kitchen table and entertains me while I cook.  It’s my zen place.

Anyway, it worked fine and I’m pretty sure this is the first time anyone besides Paul and I have eaten dinner at our house.  That’s pretty crazy considering how long we’ve lived here.

Flowers from farmers market

Flowers from farmers market

One Comment leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    December 29, 2008 8:24 pm

    i love the art of simple food — i just got it for christmas, and the second i got back to my apartment yesterday after a week at my parents’, i made alice’s chicken stock. my house still smells like magic. how was the soup?

Leave a Reply

