Skip to content

mendocino

January 2, 2009

We got back this afternoon from a wonderful few days in Mendocino.  My parents and one of my sisters joined P, me, and the Chordas family, whom we’ve  all known since I was a baby.  It was great to have everyone together again in Mendocino.  We went to the beach, sort of successfully went mushroom hunting (Melissa & her dad found about a pound of chanterelles), and made a big new years dinner at our cabin.

Hanna mushroom hunting

Hanna mushroom hunting

I took more pictures with the Polaroid, so maybe those will get up on flickr someday.

This was Hazel’s first time at the beach, and while she really liked the sand and all the sticks, she is definitely unsure about all the water.  To get to part of the beach we like in Mendocino you have to cross a stream and on the way there Paul had to carry her across.

Paul carrying baby Hazel

Paul carrying baby Hazel

On the way back we all took turns jumping across the narrow part of the stream and then calling her across.  She paced around for a second and then jumped across!  It was pretty damn cute how excited she was once she got on the other side.

Hanna & Hazel both make funny faces

Hanna & Hazel both make funny faces

We are already making plans for a return trip.  There is just something about the mist and the wooden streets and the delicious baked goods and the cabins with hot tubs and fireplaces that makes Mendocino a perfect little town.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    January 2, 2009 12:41 pm

    what a lovely way to spend the new year! hazel is growing…!

  2. January 2, 2009 5:41 pm

    It was a fun trip. Everytime I visit and then come home I am more and more disappointed to leave. Perhaps in the future I will situate myself there and there will always be a place to visit.

  3. Tom Reed permalink
    January 3, 2009 5:56 am

    Wow, you’re brave! Who’s the Mycologist in your group? Your story of gathering mushrooms in the Mendocino forest reminded me of a group who did just what you did, also in Mendocino, and ended up with liquified livers…I’ll do my gathering at the Harvest Market. I am, though, riveted by the romance and grit of it all–very Alicewatersian of you. The pics are great. What trail were you on when you went hunting? What did you make with them? Really, if you took enough pics and add some text, you could send in a story to Sunset magazine.

    My family and I just returned from a 7-day, post Christmas decompression vacation in Capitola. It’s not as misty and spiritual as Mendocino, but great for the kids (sunny beach, Roaring Camp Railroad, aquarium etc.). I didn’t find any mushrooms, but there were these little, itty-bitty muscles all over the rocks at low tide; I didn’t eat those either 🙂

    Happy New Year.

  4. inoakpark permalink*
    January 3, 2009 6:03 am

    Tom-My friend’s mom grew up mushroom hunting in Russia. She’s been doing it since she was a little kid so I have faith that she’ll keep my liver intact. I wouldn’t go without someone experienced. We ended up finding them near jughandle beach–though apparently this year has been really bad for wild mushrooms. They were mixed into a wild rice dish that we had with lamb for nye dinner. Yum.

    I like Capitola (I lived there my second year of college and was an innkeeper at the Inn at Depot Hill for a bit). It is very family friendly and you have lots of great things to do around there. I miss it!

    Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

