Skip to content

recipes from the sick house

January 3, 2009

Paul and I have been fighting something for the last week or so. It seems to come and go–some days we feel fine, and other days (like yesterday) we are both lying in feverish heaps on the couch watching TV on the computer (Mad Men is excellent by the way). When I’m sick I invent home remedies to try and make things better. Usually these center around garlic and honey (both antibacterial).

Today I woke up with what is clearly pink eye. Since I can’t get to the doctor until next week anyway, I’ve been giving it eye drops and soaking it with warm garlic water (put garlic in a tea bag and soaked it in hot water until it was cool enough to put on my eye). I have no idea if the garlic is doing some other damage, and it burns a little bit, but I’m going with it.

I’m also drinking a lot of my “nasty tea,” a recipe that I can’t take credit for (Claudia shared it with me). It goes something like this:

Take a few cloves of garlic and chop them up. Put them in a large mug. Put a few spoonfuls of honey on top of the garlic. Cut a quarter of a lemon and squeeze that into the mug, then throw the rind in. If you have ginger, throw some of that in too. Or mint (or a mint tea bag…whatever floats your boat). Pour simmering water on top and let it sit until it’s cool enough to drink. Repeat.

all ready

all ready

I find that if I drink it early enough in my sickness, it significantly reduces the time I’m sick (and I don’t end up with pinkeye like this time). I’m kicking myself that I didn’t start making it until yesterday this time around.

I should also point out that this is entirely local medicine for me…the lemon is from our yard, the garlic is from farmer’s market, and the honey is  local and purchased at the bee store.

Also, since we don’t feel like going to the grocery I’ve been inventing food from what we’ve got here. Yesterday I made leftover soup; basically combining the contents of our fridge in soup form.

It included: leftover Christmas turkey, a carrot, half an onion, a potato, 2 bay leaves, some thyme and sage from the garden, a dried red pepper, lots of garlic powder (fresh garlic is going into my nasty cold tea), and some sea salt and pepper. I cooked it for about a half hour on medium heat with as much water as I could fit in the pan. And it was actually pretty good.

a steaming mug of nasty tea

a steaming mug of nasty tea

Hope you are all feeling better than we are!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 3:21 pm

    I love that tea recipe (without the ginger/mint. I haven’t tried that)! I just started using it two weeks ago when I contracted a cold, and although I got sick a week after my fiance, I was better before him. He refused to drink it, much to his detriment. I call it “my crazy tea.” Score one for lemon+honey+garlic.

    I came here via A Backyard Wedding, by the way — just in case you were curious.

Leave a Reply

