Skip to content

honey nut

January 15, 2009

People in my circle talk a lot about breaking addiction to sugar. I suspect that the greater American population doesn’t know that they are “addicted” to sugar. And while I admit that I might well be addicted, I’m not doing anything about it except, recently, trying to replace really naughty sugars like the refined white stuff, for lesser evils like honey and molasses.

So last night, I was craving sugar cookies to get my fix. Only we didn’t have eggs or butter in the house. I Googled around a bit, and came up with this White Chocolate Macadamia Nut recipe. Also, ingredients that I didn’t have (or desire), but I thought the base might work, so I came up with this:

Honey Double Nut Cookies
1 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup hazelnut oil
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup cashews

An easily adaptable, from the pantry, vegan (oops-honey isn’t vegan) cookie recipe. Preheat oven to 350. I mixed together all the dry ingredients in one bowl, all the wet in another bowl, and then combined them. Easy enough. They weren’t mixing as well as I’d like so I added another tablespoon or so of hazelnut oil. Once mixed, I formed small balls of dough and rolled them in a mixture of cinnamon and unrefined sugar. I flattened the balls a bit once they were on the baking sheet. They baked about 10 minutes.

They were surprisingly good. Not too sweet and not overwhelmingly hazelnut flavored–a bit like toffee actually. The texture was excellent also. Chewy and moist with a crisp outer shell of cinnamon sugar.

I’m sure you could substitute other oils and nuts if you have something different. And the original recipe called for maple syrup instead of honey, so that could be done too.

I do have to warn you that I just ate the last of them for breakfast, so be careful! breakfast

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2009 9:14 pm

    MMMMM these look YUMMY! Although I think technically they aren’t vegan (my vegan ex-roommate informed me that honey is bee barf). Best tasting barf ever, though. 🙂

  2. inoakpark permalink*
    January 15, 2009 9:24 pm

    They were good! I totally forgot about the honey. Well, I guess you could replace it with the maple syrup in the original recipe to make them vegan.

  3. barefootrooster permalink
    January 15, 2009 9:44 pm

    yum! these are beautiful. and i bet, delicious. you strike me as someone who loves ginger — have you seen this recipe over at 101 cookbooks? it is next on my list:
    http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/triple-ginger-cookies-recipe.html

    cookies are totally allowed for breakfast. and so is pie.

  4. limeandlemon permalink
    January 16, 2009 7:05 am

    These look delicious … Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

