Skip to content

Urban farming, rural farming…

March 11, 2009

We spent Saturday at our friend’s farm in Ione, a small town about 45 minutes south-east of Sacramento.

Picture by David (the official trip photographer)

Picture by David (the official trip photographer)

The trip was a great success. We played in the hundred year old dairy barn, swam in the creek, opened up and hung out in boxcars (while singing musicals), made and ate delicious food, sang karaoke at the local bar, and walked amongst baby (brand new baby!) cows.

watching the sunset

watching the sunset

I have lots more pictures (by me) of our weekend on flickr.

When we got home on Sunday we spent the afternoon building the garden boxes in our yard.  Since Hazel ate our seedlings (did I tell you that?) I’ve been wavering about whether to restart our peppers by seed or just buy plants.  I’m thinking it’s too late to restart most things by seed.

And finally, I have two more options for curtain fabric (picked up locally, on sale).

This is what our kitchen looks like (with terrible lighting).

Paul and I are split in our decision between these two.  What do you think?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 3:42 am

    Your weekend looked like a lot of fun! You even went swimming? I am cold just pondering that thought.

    Silly Hazel. I swear, puppies do get easier at some point. I think it’s when they turn 3 that this happens. (!)

    I vote for the greenish curtains. I like the glow they give the kitchen, poor lighting and all. :0)

  2. inoakpark permalink*
    March 12, 2009 4:31 am

    Swimming is really the wrong word. We jumped into the freezing cold stream in our underwear.

  3. March 12, 2009 1:06 pm

    Swimming is really the wrong word. We jumped into the freezing cold stream in our underwear.
    Sorry, forgot to add great post! Can’t wait to see your next post!

  4. March 12, 2009 4:26 pm

    I like the yellow-green…but then again it depends…are you also choosing from the three earlier prints and doing a mix and match thing? Cause the red would go better with the little house print.
    I do like the yellow-green the best…out of all the choices.

  5. March 12, 2009 4:28 pm

    Yeah, 3 is the magic age for puppies to become dogs, and year 2 tends to be the most destructive. And put me down for the green curtains for sure.

  6. March 13, 2009 12:23 am

    I like the yellow-y ones! A happy and cute color 🙂

  7. hanna permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:29 pm

    I like the yellow.

Trackbacks

  1. Fall Farm Weekend « In Oak Park
  2. Memorial Day Weekend (several days late) « In Oak Park

Leave a Reply

