Skip to content

Chicas

March 26, 2009
tags:

Cheep. Cheep cheep.

Paul is out of town the next few days and out of desperation and loneliness, I’ve added new members to our family.

Meet the girls:

Just  kidding.  Those aren’t all mine.  I went with Melissa and her mom to pick up chicks today.  I’m actually going to a different place tomorrow to pick up a few different breeds for both of us, but for now I bring you Tanisha (Nisha), Hennessy, Xochitl, and Mariposa.
Tanisha and Hennessy are Barred Plymouth Rock hens.  They will be black and white speckled when they grow up and will lay brown eggs.

Hennessy

Hennessy

Tanisha

Tanisha is kind of grumpy

Mariposa and Xochitl are Golden Laced Wyandottes.  They will have crazy, golden coloring as hens.  Something like this:

Xochitl

Xochitl

Mariposa is the runt

Mariposa is the runt

They are currently living in the dog crate Hazel refused to enter in our front bedroom. They seem quite content and are getting along well.  While I’ve always had Rhode Island Reds before, after considerable research I decided to go with these breeds because they are supposedly much sweeter than RIRs.  I’m also hoping to pick up a Buff Orpington tomorrow, so I’ll post updates if that happens.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. mbalavage permalink
    March 26, 2009 2:12 am

    omg. How much longer are they going to be fuzzy? I must visit.

  2. inoakpark permalink*
    March 26, 2009 2:51 am

    Hummm…I think the fuzz only lasts a few weeks. So you’d have to make a quick visit!

  3. March 26, 2009 2:58 am

    I love the choice of names.

  4. March 26, 2009 3:26 am

    OooOh! I am so jealous! They are darling. I love how Mariposa and Xochitl will look as adults. Gorgeous.

  5. Tom permalink
    March 26, 2009 6:12 am

    Coincidentally, the same day you received your chicks, I removed the two chickens I had and released them on my in-laws’ ranch–just released them this morning. Much easier to pick up a dozen eggs at the farmers market.

    Crap machines, all of them.

    All my best,

    Tom

  6. Tom permalink
    March 26, 2009 6:31 am

    Help me out…Xochitl.

    Is that pronounced Show-eat-l, or
    So-cheat-l?

    Am I way off?

    Tom

  7. March 26, 2009 4:23 pm

    Oh! I want! So cute! And economical for the recession! 🙂

  8. inoakpark permalink*
    March 26, 2009 4:45 pm

    Tom…Xochitl= so-chi or zo-chi (the t and l are silent)
    It’s an aztec name.

  9. March 27, 2009 2:08 am

    Cute!!!

Leave a Reply

