Skip to content

Birthdays and blogs

April 9, 2009

I think that my parents (as well as Melissa’s) should take it as a compliment that one of the reasons I love blogs like SouleMama so much is that they feel nostalgic.  Our parents were throwing us art parties before it was the cool thing to do (not that Amanda does it to be cool) and before the wonder of blogs made children’s birthday party throwing a thing.  Sure, we had our share of pool parties too, but I distinctly remember most of our birthdays including such trendy components as the homemade crown (though I couldn’t find photo evidence of it).  Melissa?

On the other hand, as a parent, there must be so much pressure to make your kid’s party Special and unique.  Hell, as an adult there seems to be pressure to make birthdays cool and special.  Evidenced by the last adult party I went to which included a very elaborate scavenger hunt with stops for sushi and chocolates and other things that make adults make the happy face that the roller skates above made me make.

I think this year I’m going to have a backyard BBQ housewarming birthday party combo.  I’m thinking party dresses and punch with sorbet in it.  Mark you calendars (for whatever weekend is around May 21st)!  

And, just as an update, my arms and back are non-functional today due to all the digging yesterday.  Manual labor is hard!  

PS-I would have included pictures of Paul’s childhood birthdays, but Paul doesn’t have pictures of his childhood because he was never young.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. hanna permalink
    April 10, 2009 2:05 am

    aw you actually have pictures of your birthdays! lucky

  2. inoakpark permalink*
    April 10, 2009 2:41 am

    I have pictures of your birthdays too!

  3. Melissa permalink
    April 10, 2009 4:00 pm

    Yes! Our birthdays were the best. The thing is I think our parents just did it…with no pressure. I have to look through my pictures…I’m sure I’ve got some and upload them. I like the heartsong birthday with the stars in the cake and the felt horse. I remember those things…. seriously…I love how we enjoyed our birthdays and childhood free of electronics and tvs…like todays kids. Our parents did good🙂

  4. Richard permalink
    October 29, 2009 11:40 am

    The kids are looking very cute….. birthdays are always special….. they become more special if we organize a party and invite all our near and dear ones….. but you must have an excellent birthday party idea to make a birthday party more interesting and exciting. Well.. nowadays……some amazing websites are available on the web that are providing creative birthday party ideas……if you want you can simply checkout the link …..here http://www.coolest-party-ideas.com/birthday-party-ideas.html

Leave a Reply

