Skip to content

Dirt.

April 9, 2009
tags: ,

So our gardening has been stalled by the lack of dirt in the garden boxes Paul built forrrevvvvvver ago.  Plans to pick up dirt kept getting foiled so on Monday I broke down and called a local dirt and gravel company and scheduled a delivery of four yards of dirt for today.  I failed to take into account that the dump truck would be huge and would need to dump the dirt right at the base of our driveway since the volvo barely fits past our porch–let alone a big old truck.  After digging out the dirt enough to close the gate, the dumptruck man left me with this giant pile of dirt in my driveway.

That picture doesn’t really give the best perspective in terms of the massive amount of dirt there, but I love Hazel running towards the pile in the corner.  She loves it and I think is very sad to see it shrinking.

We ordered two yards of filtered fill dirt and two yards of organic compost.  I mixed them together in the wheel barrel so they are fairly evenly mixed in the beds.  

I got really dirty and in the middle of digging had to leave to go buy chick feed before the feed store closed.  That required digging out all the dirt around the fence to get the gate open.

 

this is my troll face

this is my dirt covered troll face

After several hours of digging and several blisters on my hand we now have a slightly smaller pile and two mostly full garden boxes.   

4 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    April 9, 2009 11:26 am

    those plants are going to be HAPPY! nice work. and boy, hazel is getting big!

  2. April 9, 2009 3:35 pm

    I am duly impressed by your dirt transplanting abilities.

  3. inoakpark permalink*
    April 9, 2009 3:41 pm

    I am SO sore this morning.

  4. Jose permalink
    May 18, 2009 5:33 am

    Where did you get your dirt? We need some compost too and delivery is always a good option.

Leave a Reply

