Skip to content

Work-trade

May 6, 2009

Sorry for the lack of posts. I’m usually inspired to post because I have a picture I want to share, but I haven’t had a camera in a few weeks, so that’s really hindering my desire to blog.

I did start my work-trade at Soil Born Farms this morning. Three hours of work a week for a CSA box isn’t a bad deal at all! Today I:
-thinned beet seedlings (4 finger widths!)
-weeded around squash plants
-thinned peaches (1 every 6 finger widths)
-and helped set up a plastic covered row (helps with weeds). I was terrible at this, though I think I sort of got the hang of it towards the end. It was harder work than it sounds like it might be.

In exchange I got a giant box of produce that included: grapefruit, kolrahbi (sp?), onions, garlic, lettuce, various greens, and arugula.

Combined with the stuff we got at farmer’s market over the weekend (apples, lettuce, tomatoes, avocados, carrots, kale, chard, english peas, favas, leeks, and artichokes) our fridge is literally overflowing with fresh, local, pesticide-free produce. It’s amazing and super overwhelming as the cook of the house.

I’ll hopefully have my camera back soon so I can document the vegetables taking over our life!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

