Skip to content

Busy on the farm

May 14, 2009

This last week has been sort of crazed, but after this weekend I’ll have my camera back (!!) and things should calm down a bit, so I’ll be back to blogging more.

This weekend is our friends Susan & Marty’s wedding.  We made a goal to have the chickens outside before then, so Paul has been working every night, in the dark, to try and get the thing finished.  Not exactly an easy task.  It’s coming together though, and looks pretty nice, if I do say so myself.  We ended up getting a plan, because I like Dottie Angel’s coop so very much.  It’s not exactly the picking free stuff up off Craig’s List, bargin coop I’d wanted to build, but it turns out that without a truck at our disposal, running off to pick up random wood scraps all the time was pretty much impossible.  So instead we have a super fancy delux coop.

The garden is coming along as well, although things that are suppose to be growing down (beets, radishes, & carrots), seem to be popping up out of the soil. I’d say that the dirt isn’t loose enough for them, but it’s pretty loose soil.  Not sure what’s up with that.  The squash and tomatoes are doing surprsingly well considering the lack of sunshine they are getting.  And all the beans are happy too.

At my work-trade yesterday I did a whole lot o’ weeding, some tomatillo planting, and I helped make another garden bed (this time with much more sucess).  My payoff box included: lots and lots more greens (kale, chard), lettuce, asparagus (!), and radishes.  I feel like I’m missing something, but that could be it.  Two entire shelve of our fridge have been taken over by greens.  It’s kind of amazing.  Paul also picked up some really delicious cherries and more apples from farmers market yesterday, so we’re flush with fruits and vegetables over here.

I need to go figure out what I’m going to say at the wedding this weekend.  Public speaking isn’t my strong point, so I’m attempting something short & sweet.  We’ll see how that goes…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 15, 2009 4:47 am

    Sounds like things are going well. The Millville Grange is being taken over by the slow food movement. I guess Palo Cedro is pretty cool after all.

Leave a Reply

