Skip to content

muchas cosas

May 20, 2009

Sometimes I get so far behind on the things I want to write about that I feel too overwhelmed to write about anything.  I was talking to someone at the wedding this weekend about why and how I blog.  Why, for example, I kept my wedding blog (which now has almost 400 google reader subscribers) secret from everyone, including Paul, for months before I told anyone.  I think it’s because I walk a fine line between wanting to use my blog to journal and document my life for me and feeling obligated to post stuff here that people want to read.  I try to do the former, censor myself enough that nobody gets into any trouble, and then if y’all want to read what I write no problem.  But it’s tricky and often I’m left feeling guilty that I haven’t written anything substantial here for weeks.  I’m trying to let go of that guilt.

With that said, here’s a rambling list of the stuff I’ve done in the last few days…

The chicken coop is D-O-N-E.  

It’s kind of pretty, actually.  There are a few more finishing touches that need to happen, but for the most part it’s set and the chickens are outside, loving their new digs.

Likely, nobody would have noticed this, but in case anyone does and is horrified, their water isn’t normally so disgusting.  I was out there to change it at the end of the day. 

We finished it on Friday evening, before heading off to the wedding of Susan & Marty, two of our very good friends.  Susan officiated our wedding in September.

The bride was beautiful and had really cute shoes…

The ceremony was officiated by friends (friends with an adorable baby) who said powerful words about love, sacrifice, and marriage.  

And the reception had good food, good conversation, and hours upon hours of dancing to some amazing DJ’s, including Ana Sia who was fun beyond explanation.  

Today I worked at the farm, doing more weeding, planting tomatoes, and strawing a bed.  My loot:

That image doesn’t actually capture everything, which included lots of summer squash, salad greens, lettuce, french radishes, purple cabbage, cauliflower, beets, kale, and onions.  

And then I got home and my aunt brought over a few baby rose bushes for my yard, some baby elephant garlic, and this big pitcher of flowers for my birthday (which is tomorrow, unfortunately).   

Pretty, and she used mint for the greenery so it smells really good too.  

Please ignore the mess that is my kitchen table/temporary sewing table/desk.  

I’m off to a chicken meeting soon (mostly because I want coffee and the meeting is at a coffee house).  Paul tricks me with things like that.  Yesterday he literally pulled up next to me as I was driving home from work and guilted me into following him to the polling place to go vote in the special election.  

More to come later in the week about our garden, which is doing amazing things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 2:36 pm

    i feel like you just put into words so well my feelings about blogging…it is such a fine line between journaling and censorship because the internet is such a public place. and ditto on having so many things i want to write about that i get overwhelmed. i do love reading both your blogs though!

  2. May 22, 2009 6:12 am

    The hardest post is the one in which you publish after not posting for a while. People will read, and appreciate your time! Keep posting!

Leave a Reply

