Skip to content

namesake

June 1, 2009
tags:

My great-grandma catherine passed away on Saturday, after 93 years of jam-packed, amazing life.  

 

My grandma louise and great-grandma katie

My grandma louise and great-grandma katie being awesome

She was one of the sweetest old ladies I’ve ever met.  Her parents were wild–her mom was a Chicago flapper who didn’t wear underwear–so her rebellion was to be an upstanding citizen.  She was jolly and lighthearted, but always concerned about others.  Her house in Denver was filled with music boxes and photo albums–an awe-inspiring combination as a kid.  She loved playing cards and taught my sisters and cousins and I how to play gin rummy before we could even sit at a table without a pillow or something to boost us up.  And while she lived in Denver my whole life, and had traveled all over the world, she maintained that she loved San Francisco the best.  

My sisters and my grandma in ghirardelli square.

My sisters, my grandma, and me in ghirardelli square, circa the days of bad fashion

 I feel honored to have been named after such an amazing lady.  

baby me
5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 5:49 pm

    Katie she sounds like such an amazing person. I like people who love life and embrace it, live possitive. Life is so short and precious. You were named after her rightfully so, keep doing what your doing. Can’t wait to see you and your family again.
    I lost my uncle on the same day, I was named after him as well. After my dad died my uncle (my dad’s brother) became my pop more than ever. I never intended to live upto his legacy, his history is to incredibly intense. He lost his wife and second wife to cancer, he was 86 and totally ready to go. He got everything in order and died in his sleep. I’m glad for him but so very sad for myself, I’m going to really miss him.
    So I’m feeling similar to what you’re feeling right now. Hang in there and I’ll try to do the same.

  2. June 1, 2009 11:58 pm

    Sounds like she lived a wonderful, full life. Like people say, they don’t want to live a long boring life – they want to live a life lived to the fullest potential, and at the end, slide into home plate head first and yell, “that was a hell of a ride!”

    I am named for my grandmother Catherine also.

    Thoughts, hugs.

  3. Tanya permalink
    June 2, 2009 4:07 am

    Katie, sounds like you are taking after your namesake, you embrace life, Katie

  4. paul permalink
    June 3, 2009 11:11 pm

    i love the top pic with the dogs. why were they dressed up? just a normal day at the beach.

  5. inoakpark permalink*
    June 4, 2009 4:47 pm

    Why were the dogs dressed? i have no idea. Probably to take pictures with?

Leave a Reply

