Skip to content

The week got away from me

June 4, 2009

It’s been a long week folks.  I sometimes think that I’m really not cut out for the going to work every day kind of job.  Which is kind of a good segue into why my week has been so crazy.  

So y’all know that I quit doing midwifery in November because I could not get myself to go back on-call after my honeymoon.  Like the thought of being on-call one more day made me want to sob hysterically.  I also had other reasons that I didn’t think that midwifery was sustainable for me in the long run, mostly that it doesn’t pay that well, but it was mostly the being endlessly on-call thing.  So recently a new midwife moved to the area and suddenly the midwives I worked with are taking time off and going on trips and generally getting to take time off-call because the new midwife can cover.  It seems like a shift is happening where the midwives are realizing they need to take care of themselves and not just the families they care for.  And kind of liking the shift,  Paul and I had a conversation on Sunday and Monday about midwifery and how much I missed it and how things could possibly be different now.

So then I show up for my work-trade on Tuesday (I went a day early this week) and the other volunteer just happened to be the new midwife–who had been trying to get ahold of me and I’d been avoiding (for fear that I’d get sucked back in to midwifery).  So after a good laugh about the universe trying to push us together, we had a long conversation about midwifery and how she wants to practice and she basically made me feel totally validated about my concerns.  And she offered me a job as her assistant, sharing call with someone else if I wanted so it wouldn’t be insane.    

I think things are different this time, but I’m having to work very, very hard to think this through in a very thorough way and not just accept it and do happy birth dances.  She seems very supportive of me wanting to become a lactation consultant also, so I don’t think it would mean quitting WIC.  We’re having dinner on Sunday so I’ll probably have more to say about it after that.

And my work-trade box for the week:

In exchange for weeding and harvesting squash (along with discussing midwifery) I got:
-New potatoes
-Chioggia beets
-The best carrots I’ve had in a long time
-Kale
-Mizuna
-Squash
-Lettuce
-Turnips
-Cabbage

I also pulled this up from my garden yesterday:

A pretty little baby french radish (though it’s much rounder than they usually are). We’re also currently harvesting arugula, lettuce, and the occasional blackberry that I eat before I can get a picture of, in addition to the the usual herbs and lemons.  

Life on the farm is looking good.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    June 4, 2009 4:50 pm

    what a beautiful radish! your box looks magical, and yay for your garden. sounds like exciting things are afoot, but that you’re being mindful and thoughtful about what may be next. happy thinking/mulling/imagining…

  2. June 4, 2009 9:49 pm

    I don’t know why the beet caught my eye, but it’s giving me horrible beet cravings. How random!

    I know how dedicated you are, sometimes to your detriment, but it sounds like this sort of midwife co-op is a really good way to babystep back into a career you love.

    In other news, when are you coming to visit?

    • inoakpark permalink*
      June 5, 2009 4:07 am

      The beets that we get are soooo amazing. Actually the ones this week were almost too sweet. Like pretty vegetable candy.

      I need to just pick a weekend and we can plan it. When are you out of the country?

      • June 5, 2009 9:31 pm

        I’m gone from July 24 through August 11, and I’m in LA the last weekend of June and the first weekend of July, but besides that, any weekend’s grand!

  3. June 5, 2009 3:22 am

    Whoa, that is pretty crazy. Somehow, I think the universe tends to unfold as it should…

Trackbacks

  1. back to birth « In Oak Park

Leave a Reply

