Skip to content

Pretty things

June 20, 2009

The salad I made last night for a birthday potluck, entirely of things from our garden or my work-trade box, is in the running for one of the prettiest things I’ve ever made/cooked.

It’s kind of silly to be this excited about a bowl of green salad, I’ll admit.  But in addition to being kind of gorgeous, it was also delicious.  The spiciness of the arugula and the nasturtiums leaves and blossoms paired perfectly with the almost too sweet beets and the sugary carrots (naturally sugary).  There’s also some lemon cucumber and butter lettuce in there.  And the colors!  Swoon.  Maybe it’s just because I had a hand in growing all of it, but I’m pretty dang proud.

Another picture of it for good measure.

I also have to admit that I was skeptical about whether I’d use a wood salad bowl when I received it as a wedding gift, but it gets a whole lot of play lately and photographs well.  Rarely is an off-registry gift so useful!

And speaking of pretty things, I recently discovered Grosgain and since I’m never going to be able to afford to buy a new item of clothing ever again (which is a whole ‘nother story), winning this:

dress

Or this…

3550238440_b9b3665643

Or really anything on her website of beautiful new and restructured clothes would be lovely, thank you.  She has some easy tutorials that I plan to implement soon also.  Now that I’m on a roll with sewing things to wear, her 20 minute skirt pattern sounds like something that could happen on one of my days off next week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    June 25, 2009 1:40 am

    Lovely salad Katie! Was everything raw? Was it dressed?

    T

  2. August 7, 2009 2:27 pm

    Love your blog…love the items that you have made so far! Good luck with everything! =)

Leave a Reply

