Skip to content

back to birth

June 22, 2009
tags:

There hasn’t been much talk on this blog about my work.  Most of you who read this probably know me well enough to know anyway, but since 2003* I’ve been working, in one way or another, to become a midwife.  It’s taken on many forms.  Sometimes I think I’ll go into nursing, sometimes I think I’d hate that and I think becoming a CPM (Certified Professional Midwife) and LM (Licensed Midwife) is the way to go.  And then there are the days were I’m like “eff it all…I’m going to be a farmer.”  

But the truth is, that I love midwifery.  I love talking to women about health care.  I think I’m pretty good at it too.  Some might say I feel “called” to it, in the irrational, this job is crazy but I can’t get it out of my head, way.  Last year I worked with a local home birth midwifery practice doing an apprenticeship on the path to becoming a CPM/LM.  I pretty much went insane with the craziness of the schedule, plus buying a house, plus getting married, plus the dog (the dog is very crazy-making).  At the end of the year (sometime around November when we left on our honeymoon), I decided “never again.”  

But I’ve kind of done a half-assed job at keeping myself away from birth.  I set up pretty strict boundaries with the midwives I know, but I’ve been reading more birth blogs than ever and asking way more birth related questions than really necessary at my breastfeeding consults.  I blogged a few weeks ago about the possibility of me going back to midwifery, and it seems like that is becoming a reality.  

I actually just got back from a trial birth of sorts with the midwife I’ll be working with and it was awesome.  Really fun; I felt empowered to offer suggestions and share in the decision making process and in general I felt way more comfortable taking an active, participatory role in a birth than I ever have before.  It was a great experience.  She’s taking the rest of the summer off so our next client won’t be until October or so, but in the meantime I’m going to Texas!  I went for two weeks in 2005 and it’s CRAZY.  Everyone calls it bootcamp for midwives, and it’s true.  You live at the birth center and basically eat, drink, and sleep (only you don’t sleep) birth for the entire time you are there.  I’m excited and terrified and I need to learn Spanish NOW.  

So there you go.  I’m back to birth (and probably rambling a lot since I have yet to go to sleep today).  

*Holy crap!  Even I didn’t know it had been that long.  I had to check when I started taking classes on my doula site.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 8:16 pm

    Yaaay! I’m so glad you took some time off, but I’m even more glad you’re diving back in head first…good luck!

  2. Jillian permalink
    June 30, 2009 12:23 pm

    Hey, I just wanted to say I really enjoy reading your blog. I came across your wedding blog when I was looking for practical ideas and inspiration for our upcoming wedding… then made it over here and enjoy reading about your gardening, midwifery and living in California. Just thought I should say hi!

Leave a Reply

