Skip to content

Nice to meet you!

July 18, 2009

Thanks to those of you who responded to the last post!  I love knowing who is reading this.  As I suspected, a fair number of you came over from A Backyard Wedding.  There are also quite a few Sacramento folks reading, which surprised me.  I occasionally hesitate before posting about local events because I assume nobody is going to read them who could actually attend, but I’ll start spreading the word more often.  For example, last weekend Paul and I went to a Slow Food dinner here in one of the community gardens here in Sacramento that was AMAZING.  If you haven’t checked out the new Magpie Cafe–go.  Now.

 

Looking slightly more pulled together than normal.

Looking slightly more pulled together than normal at the dinner.

So for those of you in Sacramento (or anywhere) living in this little heat wave we are having the last few days–what are you doing to stay cool?  We don’t have air conditioning in our house so 103-105 degree days are pretty miserable.  We have friends coming into town tomorrow so I think we are going to be spending some time at the river on Sunday.  Any leads on a fun, cool (temperature wise) thing to do on Saturday?

 

And slightly less pulled together in the river last weekend.

And slightly less pulled together in the river last weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 3:59 pm

    we’re in sac and don’t have air conditioning either, so i totally understand that; we mostly just lay around and try not to move on those really hot days. i’m amazed the nights have been so gorgeous lately, but August is sure to have some rough nights that never cool down. i’m a big fan of getting an orange freeze (on stockton blvd across from the med center), or a gunther’s fruit freeze (franklin blvd), or a merlino’s (folsom blvd) for a quick fix. also, there are tons of hidden watering holes up in the hills past placerville, and the hills tend to be a little cooler anyway. i just read about University Falls, which sound alternately great, dangerous, and like it’s needing a rest from visitors, but it does sound pretty lovely…

  2. Brandie Shelor permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:24 pm

    I simply love your posts. I found you by searching for backyard wedding blogs and you are such a breath of fresh air in such a busy and unforgiving world. I live in Tampa, am a teacher and am finishing my masters now. Things are pretty busy, but not too busy to stop and smell the roses…..I’ve been forgetting to do that lately. My boyfriend and I are talking about engagement very soon and we have talked about doing a backyard wedding. YOURS was absolutely stunning. I love the picture with the lights gleaming over the tables at night. We have found a great yard, but (I know 10,000 isn’t much when it comes to a wedding) but was there no way to cut the cost even more? My boyfriend is really optimistic when it comes to money/wedding and doesn’t really “get” how expensive it can be. ANY tips….resources?? Please keep the posts coming. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

