Skip to content

No-knead bread

August 8, 2009

So I know everyone else started making no-knead bread about three years ago, but I finally jumped on the bandwagon this week.  Although, I was pretty sure things were going downhill when, after the 24 hour initial waiting period, my bread did not rise AT ALL in the the last two hours of poof time.  For those of you who have not done no-knead bread yet, those last few hours are when your bread is suppose to double in size.  No so much in my case.  I was pretty sure it was going to be hard as a rock when I took it out of the oven.

But nope!  It was really good.  I’d actually add the full amount of salt the recipe calls for next time (it needed it for flavor, but I hate adding salt to things).  But, it was moist on the inside, crispy on the outside, and sliced well.

I ate some for an afterschool snack with goat cheese.  Yum.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hanna permalink
    August 8, 2009 4:12 pm

    mm that looks good. what is the recipe?

  2. inoakpark permalink*
    August 10, 2009 1:48 am

    Hanna–follow the link to the NYT article. It’s from there.

Leave a Reply

