Skip to content

Chicken soup for the hungover soul

November 2, 2009

We didn’t have costumes, or really plan on doing much of anything, but thanks to my parents Halloween ended up being a lot of fun.  My grandma broke her hip again last week so my parents had been in town during the day so my mom could visit her.  I hung out with my grandma, mom, and aunts, cousin, etc all day at the rehab center having interesting, far too detailed conversations about my sex life and fertility.  We’re a very open family, but I’m sure outsiders would be sort of horrified by the conversations.  Paul is resigned to the level of detail my mom/grandma/other crazy relatives get to hear about our sex life.  I try and refrain from posting too many details on the internet.  I’m not that kind of blogger, I suppose.  Regardless, he’s a very understanding man.

My parents were planning on heading home in the afternoon to get to a Halloween party, but were convinced to stay in town for dinner, which turned into dinner and lots of drinks.  Since I’ve stopped being such a party girl, one drink is a lot for me now.  I never really felt terribly drunk last night, but those six drinks did not feel very good this morning, or the rest of today.  I spent a good chunk of the day in bed watching Hulu, working on the sock I started knitting, drinking Vitamin Water, and moaning.

At some point I got down the last (unfrozen) bit of the chicken soup I made last week.

This afternoon I did some yard work.  While the last few sunny days make me nervous (doesn’t everyone need rain about now?), we started our winter garden really late and the sun has helped with stuff sprouting up.

I also used the crock pot again today to slow cook up some curry.  I can’t believe I lived without a crock pot for the last 26 years of my life.  It’s singlehandedly revived my desire to cook.  I’ll let you know how the curry turns out.  It smells delicious!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 12:35 am

    If it’s good, will you share the recipe? I’m intrigued by crock pot curry.

  2. Steve permalink
    November 4, 2009 6:45 pm

    There’s something about this post that makes me feel like an irresponsible parent, but it was fun night out (until I got grumpy at the end).

    Aren’t crock pots an affront to *true* pot cooking, which involves braising meat in a heavy pot as the first step to get that magical seared-meat flavor into the dish?

    :::sniffs with mock crock-pot disapproval:::

Leave a Reply

