Skip to content

An update on my uterus

November 5, 2009

My dad seems to occasionally stop by this blog (hi dad), most recently to let me know that he disapproves of my crock pot use (something about the lack of braising, and it not being real cooking).

Which makes it weird to write about my period, and sex, and stuff like that.  Because even though I will talk about it with anyone, because that’s what happens when you work in women’s health for a long time, it’s still a bit weird.

But I’m going to say this anyway, because what is blogging for, if not getting stuff off your chest in way too public a way…

Please stop asking me if I’m pregnant.  Or telling me that you can tell I’ll get pregnant soon.  Or that I’ll have cute babies.  Yes, I know I’m a young married person.  And I know I work with pregnant ladies and babies all day. And I know I sometimes say I’m hungry, or I have to pee, or I get the hiccups and you might overhear that information.  None of those things mean I’m pregnant.

Sometimes things are not quite as simple as you’d like to believe that they are.  And I promise that if I get pregnant someday, I’ll be blogging about it here.

For now, I need a glass of wine.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 5:18 pm

    have you seen the Reclaiming Wife posts over at http://www.apracticalwedding.com? There are a lot of new wives commiserating over the incessant babymaking inquiries and expectations.

  2. November 6, 2009 2:04 am

    Six days after our wedding my MIL asked if I was pregnant. I was not. I have no idea how I would have known (assuming honeymoon baby, which I hope she would have) but yeah. Sigh. I have been cheerfully replying “any minute now!” to any and all requests.

  3. November 6, 2009 2:12 am

    That is so annoying. I just tell people I’m sterile, shuts em right up. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

