Skip to content

Preventing the flu

November 19, 2009
tags:

I’m curious how many of you are getting the H1N1 vaccine, or what you are doing this flu season (if anything) to help prevent getting a bug.

While I’m not anti-vaccines, I’ve never before in my adult life felt compelled to get a vaccine against anything.  And being a reasonably healthy person, I’ve never seen a reason to get a seasonal flu shot, even when I spent a flu season in college working at flu clinics, helping distribute the vaccines!

But, working with so many pregnant women and new babies, and working in a WIC office where hundreds of people are coming through each day (and not necessarily the healthiest people), I’ve basically convinced myself that I should get the shot.  I actually attempted to get one through a county flu clinic, but so did 4000+ other people that day!  It turns out my doctor’s office has them, but they won’t give me one until next week (after all their patients under the age of 24 get their shots).

I’ve heard that after you get the shot you should treat yourself as if you are sick for a few days, to give your body a chance to get a handle on the nastiness you’ve injected into it, so I’m planning on stocking up on garlic and probiotics, which are my usual prevention measures.  I’m also interested in trying elderberry, but I’m not sure whether I should get a tincture or syrup if I’m taking it preventatively.  Anyone know?

So that’s the plan, but I’d love to hear what other things people are doing to fight the flu and bulk up their immune system.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 12:52 pm

    I’m not really doing anything.
    Same as you I’m not anti-vaccine (probably more pro-vaccine) but I won’t be getting one, regular or H1N1, this year. I haven’t ever gotten one in my adult life either but that’s mostly because I work in a small lab and see very few people on a daily basis. In the same turn, I’m not likely to pass anything to someone who may be high risk.
    I guess I feel like there are only so many to go around, and I’m not so high on the priority list – I might as well bow out and let others who really need it have the chance.

    At least that’s what I tell myself.

  2. November 19, 2009 8:12 pm

    I’m pregnant and not getting it (after much research, debate, and discussing it a lot with my husband and midwife). I’ve been taking Vitamin D with probiotics every day, which I would highly recommend. I also take a prenatal vitamin among other vitamins daily (fish oil, zinc, vitamin C, etc.)

    I’m learning more and more about vaccines and I’m just not sold on the benefits, but I also wouldn’t discourage anyone from getting them. It’s such a personal choice, like so many things (i.e. I’m planning to have a home birth but wouldn’t encourage my other pregnant friends to do the same unless they felt comfortable and confident doing so).

    Also, my family uses tons of therapeutic-grade essential oils that are known for combatting illness (and have worked so far). I’d be happy to give you more information about it, if you’re interested. I’m all about being proactive for health and so much of it (in my opinion) is eating well, drinking plenty of water, and getting enough sleep. It’s so basic and common sense, but I’m always surprised how many people skip those things and wonder why their body can’t successfully fight illness (not implying you–I’ve seen what you eat/cook and it’s impressive!). Uh, this is sounding REAL preachy now. Sorry! Just passionate about this stuff I suppose…

    Anyway, hope you stay healthy whatever you choose!

    The end.

  3. Rebecca permalink
    November 19, 2009 9:30 pm

    I stopped getting the flu shot because I would always get the flu TWICE! when I got it, once in September and again in Jan/Feb usually. I just decided to try to go without it – and since then I haven’t been sick once! That’s 4/5 years. Maybe it’s just me…I am not necessarily anit-vaccine either, but I am not getting the H1N1 vaccine – like Annie I am not sold on the benefits and agree that it is a very personal decision. I, personally, seem to do better without interference.

  4. Mom permalink
    November 28, 2009 5:12 am

    Turn Verein is having H1N1 shots this Monday evening. I would recommend getting any vaccines you can. Modern medicine isn’t all bad.

Leave a Reply

