Skip to content

Thanksgiving

November 27, 2009

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  We normally head up to my parent’s house for the holiday, but since I’m on call my family ended up coming down here and we spent the day at my uncle’s house near Sacramento.

I decided to try something different for my dessert contribution this year, and took the pumpkin we got from Winterport Farm and roasted it up to make a bourbon pumpkin cheesecake.

Since I also love cranberry sauce an ungodly amount, I put myself in charge of making that too.  My version this year involved cranberries, a couple of whole satsuma mandarins (juice, pulp, and rind chopped up), and fresh grated ginger.  I am already planning on heading back to the store to buy several bags of cranberries so I can make this later in the year (or maybe make a bit to can up now).

And, because I loved our dinner so dang much, here’s a list of what was else was made:
-Pumpkin/ginger/cranberry bread (I made for breakfast)
-Sausage and herb stuffed mushrooms
-Turkey – my dad does this with lots of herbs under the skin and I’m not sure what else
-Stuffing with bacon, walnuts, and other yummy things
-Arugula salad with persimmons, pomegranate seeds, and blue cheese
-Green beans with onions and irish cheddar cheesy sauce
-Mashed potatoes
-Gravy
Brussel sprouts with bacon (we love some bacon)

We had pie for breakfast so I’m holding out until later today to eat up the rest of our leftovers from last night. Mmmmm.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    November 28, 2009 9:50 pm

    The turkey was sage butter rubbed under the skin, plus chopped herbs from our garden boxes and salt & pepper mixed with olive oil rubbed under and on top of the skin, and also rubbed inside the cavity. The cavity was stuffed with quartered lemons, quartered yellow onions, sprigs of rosemary, and a quarter stick of butter. Andy did the basting.

    That was an amazing meal. The turkey was about the eighth best thing on the table.

Leave a Reply

