Skip to content

Hope you all had wonderful holidays!

December 26, 2009

While my dad apparently thinks that my lack of posting for weeks on end has to do with me keeping secrets, that’s not necessarily the case.  I’ve just been insanely busy with making Christmas presents (which I suppose I did want to keep secret), attending holiday parties (no secrets there), and other odds and ends.

We had a wonderful Christmas, as always.  I spent Christmas Eve finishing up present making, while the family finished up shopping and my dad waited in line for an hour or so to get our traditional Christmas Eve crab.

After dinner we all finished up wrapping and Hanna insisted we watch Love, Actually.  I fell asleep, but I blame Hazel for that.  She literally did not go to sleep on Wednesday night, so we were up all night with her trying to keep her quiet while she ran around in circles wanting to play.

My mom decided that this was our best wrapping year ever. (My sister may or may not have been up until 6am making hand decoupaged gift cards)

Christmas morning we opened presents, which I believe was pretty fruitful for everyone.  Paul and I scored with a new camping stove and lantern (the car camping variety), which we’d been wanting since we discovered over the summer that car camping with a sometimes working backpacking stove and constantly failing flashlights is challenging.

Hazel tearing open her gift

Paul and I got each other mini-vacations in the next few months, so that’s something exciting to look forward to.  Paul got me a trip to Chico to see Devil Makes Three and spend the night in a hotel there.  I got him a night in Big Sur (which my mom opened accidentally and almost announced before I stopped her).  I also got a new camera lens that I’m extremely excited about.  It’s called a Lensbaby, and the closest thing I can compare it to is maybe a Holga?  You can do pretty crazy stuff with it, and you can add on different lens accessories (like macro and wide angle).  It takes some practice to figure out how to focus on anything, but I love the effects once you get it to work for you.

We drove back down to Sacramento in the afternoon for my grandma’s 90th birthday.  She broke her hip a few months ago, and has had a pretty rough time since, but she was in a great mood and looking good.  There was a ton of family in town (around 25 people), so there was never a dull moment.  And people in my family know their food, so there was a ton of amazing food to eat as well.

Christmas baby taken with the lensbaby

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday!  We are heading down to San Diego tomorrow to visit Paul’s family so blogging with be limited for the next week.

Us, through the eye of the lensbaby

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2009 10:27 pm

    Great co-ordinated wrapping paper!

  2. Dad permalink
    December 28, 2009 5:22 pm

    I didn’t think you were keeping secrets. I was worried that you were neglecting “In Oak Park” because you had seasonal affect disorder or something. Too blue to blog.

  3. Tom permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:43 pm

    DM3 weekend in Chico…very cool. Be sure Paul takes you to dinner at either the Red Tavern (http://redtavern.com) or 5th Street Steakhouse. Are you staying at the Hotel Diamond? My father-in-law was the lead contractor during its restoration–beautiful. If you want lodging on the cheap, the Thunderbird Lodge on Main St. just underwent renovation and has all new pillow-top mattresses and Pottery Barn-like room treatments (my brother stayed there recently)–nice for only @ $70.

    More Chico goings ons: My sister manages a bar/nightclub downtown called Lost. For her 40th birthday, she managed to book The English Beat for Friday, Jan. 22. so her movable party will end up there. I’m not sure if it’s the same weekend as DM3 but should be insanely fun…particularly for us old guys who went to high school in the early 80’s when they were huge.

    Good to see you blogging again.

    Cheers,
    Tom

    • inoakpark permalink*
      January 4, 2010 10:02 pm

      Tom- We are staying at Hotel Diamond and have plans to eat at Red Tavern. Sounds like Paul did good!

Leave a Reply

