Skip to content

Impressive

January 3, 2010

Not that I’m surprised, but Ginger Elizabeth, a local chocolateier, was recently written up on David Lebovitz’s blog.  He calls one of her chocolate bars “insane.”  That’s high praise from someone who I’d say is pretty much the pinnacle of pastry chefs.

While we don’t know each other very well, she lived in my room at T Street (the place I lived before I met Paul), until she moved in with her then boyfriend, and I moved into it to replace her.  The room later came to be known as the marriage room, due to the trend of people moving into the room, quickly finding a partner, and moving out to get hitched.

Eating a salted caramel macaron in Ginger Elizabeth's shop

Mr. Lebovitz is a smart man.  Her chocolates are insanely good (along with her macarons, cookies, hot chocolates, and pretty much everything else she cooks up).  If you haven’t been into her shop and you live anywhere close, get yourself some chocolate ASAP.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elise permalink
    January 3, 2010 3:37 am

    Ahh. Macarons. I wanted to have macarons for my birthday, but alas Ginger Elizabeth is not open on Sundays.

  2. inoakpark permalink*
    January 3, 2010 3:45 am

    Ahhh…but they are open on Saturdays🙂

  3. Dad permalink
    January 3, 2010 4:24 am

    I think the only time I’ve seen your cousin drop his smug, cynical, ironic (very funny) Letterman-like facade is when he bit into one of those macaroons. He actually grabbed one that was on its way to the 90-year-old birthday girl and gave it to his wife. (His explanation: “Got to provide for my woman.”)

  4. January 3, 2010 6:58 am

    Didn’t you get me some chocolates from here for my birthday the other year? They were fantastic!

Trackbacks

  1. January 3, 2010 | Ginger Elizabeth Chocolates: Press // Gourmet Chocolate in Sacramento

Leave a Reply

