Skip to content

Turn up the heat please.

January 18, 2010

While it would be nice if the outside temperature was warmer, I’m specifically wondering about my internal temperature.  Every morning at 6:30 am I wake up and stick a thermometer in my mouth in a sleepy daze.  I then check the temperature by the light of my cell phone and either a) read the email on my phone because I can’t go for more than a few hours without checking my email or b) fall back asleep immediately.  It’s a giant pain in the ass, but for those of you not in the know about natural family planning, this is normally an excellent way to tell when you have ovulated (see here for more detailed info).  Normally people’s charts have this nice normal looking curve to them.  Something like this:

Here is what my charts look more like:

Crazy looking, right?  Fertility Friend (the site where where I chart) added in an ovulation line that month, but really, with all those crazy ups and downs, it’s pretty unlikely that I did.  This month is looking similarly bumpy in terms of my temperatures.  Those of you who have temped before may have some idea of what I’m talking about.  It’s pretty hard to wake up every single morning to a “WTH” kind of moment when you see what the thermometer spits out.

So if you wonder why I’m grumpy first thing in the morning, there you go.  Sometimes I’m actually tempted to over or under-inflate my temperature by wearing more or less to bed or heating the house to a certain temperature, but I suppose that’s not really the point.

I haven’t been writing that much lately because I’m not sure whether or not this sort of thing is too personal for the internet.  But after some good talks with friends (and P.) about my comfort level, I’m pretty sure I think that the “personal is political,” aspect of sharing about women’s health is important enough to give up some personal boundaries and write about it a bit more.  So there you go.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    January 18, 2010 2:49 am

    i’m with you that these things are important to talk about, and i feel pretty strongly that the more comfortable the universe is when it comes to talking about how our bodies work, the better off we’ll be, especially in the land of respecting ourselves and each other. this seems extra important in the context of something like women’s health because of all the cultural/historical tiptoeing that precedes us.

    high five. (also, to your thought about changing temperature by controlling other variables, thought i’d share that i always breath extra slowly when i am having my blood pressure taken…)

  2. January 18, 2010 1:13 pm

    Oh, charting…

    I practice FAM too (almost two full years successfully not pregnant) and I feel you on frustrating temperatures.
    Even still I have some months that are confusing or months that scare me into thinking I ovulated really early (when I hadn’t).

    My only advice is to try and temp earlier than you have been? You only need three hours of uninterrupted sleep to get an accurate reading and I find that if I temp later than about 5:30, I’ve tossed and turned so much that even though I’ve been sleeping my temps get wacky. Maybe see if you can stand to bump it back a little.
    A thermometer with memory is also nice. You can just go right back to sleep without trying to figure out temps and days and ovulation before you’re awake. I just write it down later that night or even the next day depending on where I am in my cycle. It keeps me from misreading it in the dark, too:/

  3. apricotta permalink
    January 18, 2010 5:26 pm

    My temps were all over the place too, so I finally switched to the Billings method, which goes off of CM. It has worked for about a year and a half. It helps that I have a clear CM pattern though.

  4. January 18, 2010 7:00 pm

    I’ve found a lot of success with a CM only method, Creighton, which is based on Billings. You don’t need a clear CM pattern for Creighton, as Dr. Hilgers has a highly specified system that all women can use, even if your CM isn’t normal.

    Anyway, keep up the NFP, and there’s a couple great NFP forums out there for NFP convo. If you ever have any specific questions, you can almost always find a NFP/FAM person in your area.

  5. January 25, 2010 5:45 pm

    thanks for this, i just decided to try out FAM instead of the pill and am going to use the website you recommended for tracking!

Leave a Reply

