Skip to content

Soup weather

January 19, 2010

While my parents are living it up in Hawaii, and did not hesitate to remind me how beautiful it is at their beach-front vacation house when they called to gloat yesterday, their children are stuck here in this nasty storm that rolled through.  I’m still not feeling particularly well so I decided this called for soup.

Ever since this new organic grower appeared at our farmer’s market last week carrying loads of asian veggies, I’ve been eating bok choy about every day.  I also happened to have some miso paste that I’ve been experimenting with, so I decided to make a very simple miso soup.

I turned out very yummy, and insanely easy to make.  I boiled soba noodles in water, and while that was cooking chopped up the bok choy and some cilantro (from the same farmer’s market vendor).  I threw the veggies in a bowl with a tablespoon of the miso paste, and when the noodles were done cooking poured them on top with some of the water.  I mixed it up, and that was that.

I made some for my sister this afternoon, and added cabbage, carrots, and onion to hers.  It was so good I may actually make it for dinner as well (maybe with the addition of some ginger or garlic to help with whatever I’m fighting off).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    January 19, 2010 12:55 pm

    miso = magic.

  2. hanna permalink
    January 21, 2010 5:57 pm

    Mmm the soup was really good, Katie. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

