Skip to content

Painting our Bedroom

January 24, 2010

We hate the color of our bedroom.  It was never meant to be light, pale, purple (but it is).  It’s also oddly shiny, though I don’t recall buying shiny paint.

I want our room to be gray, but I can’t decide how dark I want it to be.  I started out thinking I wanted it really dark, but I’m now leaning more towards something in the middle.

I love that color (Yolo Colorhouse, Stone 6), but when I look at an in-person swatch of it, it looks really dark.  See below:

It's the swatch in the upper right corner. See how shiny the wall is now! It's crazy.

What do y’all think?  Dark gray?  Light gray?  Something else entirely?  I have this theory that if the walls are darker and flatter, it will mask their weird texture and imperfections. Right now I feel like our bedroom walls look really cheap.  Can walls look cheap?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 5:31 am

    I like the one in the middle row on the right. But without knowing what the rest of the room looks like, it’s hard to say. We painted our bedroom a medium gray that I really like – I’m sure I have the color name and a picture somewhere if you want a real-life comparison?

    • inoakpark permalink*
      January 24, 2010 5:57 am

      Julia-The rest of the room is a MESS, which is why there are no full room shots🙂

      I would love to see a picture of your room. I’m having a hard time finding pictures of gray bedrooms.

  2. hanna permalink
    January 24, 2010 6:41 am

    I like that color a lot! I also like the one on the middle right.

  3. laughingfamily permalink
    January 24, 2010 11:56 pm

    We are planning to paint our bedroom a gray as well, but with a touch of blue. My goal is to match the color of the sky at the beach, right before a storm…that shouldn’t be tough, right? So far, my favorite is called Nightfall, by Freshaire, although it is a little more blue than I’d like. Choosing paint is WAY too stressful!

  4. January 25, 2010 9:13 pm

    Walls can look cheap- I know exaclty what you are talking about. I say middle row right also, since in person with that lighting I think it looks closest to the grey in the photo.

  5. Dad permalink
    January 26, 2010 11:53 pm

    I like the color in the first picture. That room is flooded with light coming from the other side (see the shadow cast by the flowers on the wall), whereas you’ve got the sample pinned up on the same wall as your primary source of light (your window). Try hanging the colors on the opposite wall and see if they look any different before you decide.

  6. Melissa permalink
    January 28, 2010 3:39 pm

    when I saw the first picture I thought it was Hazel and had to do a double take! I like the two in the middle. Maybe it is shiny because of what used to be underneath- that is shining through. When I painted my bedroom the best thing was getting little samples (they sold them at ACE for like $4 a jar) and paiting a small square on each wall. I did this with three colors and a then narrowed it down from there. Because they look so much different than on the swatches. And if you put them on the wall you can see how they look in different lightings. It made the choice eaiser.

  7. February 2, 2010 5:01 pm

    I’ve been craving dark grey walls too!

Leave a Reply

