Skip to content

What to eat?

January 25, 2010

I’m funny about food.  I will snack on anything and everything, but I also feel like I need Meals.  At least three of them a day, and I strongly prefer that they are hot.  I’m not saying I won’t eat cold food, but particularly if it’s cold outside I just feel funky if I don’t eat a warm meal every few hours.  This has never been a problem before, because I’ve always had access to a microwave or some other means of heat when I’ve been at work or school.  But now I’m in school from 8am-5:30pm every Monday & Wednesday (and apparently some Fridays if I don’t want to be a big failure, but more on that later), and I don’t have anywhere to heat up lunch.  I feel like a big whiner bitching about my lack of warm food, but I am having a giant lack of inspiration about what to bring with me to eat that will leave me feeling satisfied.

Mr. Bento lunch.

On Wednesday I took a bunch of nuts and some fruit to snack on, and ate an almond butter & honey sandwich in between classes.  It worked, but wasn’t particularly exciting and I can tell it will get old pretty quick.  I also don’t really like any other form of cold sandwich.  I used to have a Mr. Bento (see above) that I used to take lunches in.  I believe that things can stay warm in them, but there is the whole plastic leaching thing to think about.  I have yet to see a glass bento box, but might be convinced to invest in a metal one if someone can convince me that they actually stay warm.

Anyone have cold meal suggestions?  Or suggestions for how to transport warm meals (and keep them warm)?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    January 25, 2010 12:38 pm

    what about a thermos or insulated coffee mug of soup? made more hearty by bringing cooked noodles to add to the soup before you eat it (so they don’t get super soggy?) i am thinking specifically about heidi swanson’s big curry noodle pot, or something like that. (that recipe is in her cookbook, super natural cooking, which i am currently obsessed with, and i think you can find it on the google book preview of it.) i’m interested to hear what you decide on — i will be on campus for lunch a lot more this semester, which i’m bummed about. the last 3 semesters i’ve been able to walk home and cook something, hang with the dog, and prep for the afternooon, so i’m looking for lunch ideas too!

  2. January 25, 2010 7:24 pm

    Could you buy a microwave to donate to a common room? Microwaves are pretty cheap, and might cost less than buying a nice thermos.

  3. Kristen permalink
    January 28, 2010 11:17 pm

    Get one of the metal ones and then sew a pretty “cozy” for it – like a tea cozy. The only thing that gets in the way then is leakage…. some good brands prevent leakage.

  4. January 31, 2010 1:04 pm

    Interesting, i’ve learned something new today.

Leave a Reply

