Skip to content

Boring food

March 8, 2010

I am trying, unsuccessfully, to find recipes online that are low-sugar, anti-candida, high-protein.  Any suggestions?  I suspect there aren’t very many great foodie blogs on these topics, because this sort of food is horribly boring.

If I could, I would eat this all day long. Effing, addicting sugar.

Also-Hazel has spoken and I believe she would prefer to be an only child.  We met the dog, he was adorable, and Hazel bounced around like a feral beast dog trying to play with him.  He freaked out and the foster mom totally rejected us.  Ahhh well.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 5:45 am

    I’m sure this is really ignorant, but I don’t know what anti-candida means. I seem to recall my mom going anti-candida in the 90’s, and I think she did mostly vegetables, few grains and no meat. Although I can’t come up with a rationale for that working, since candida can survive on almost anything?

    That said, if what you have in mind is a lot of leafy greens and colored vegetables, some quality seasoning blends could go a long way. I might have a few of those to recommend. 🙂

  2. March 8, 2010 7:02 am

    If you’re used to eating low-sugar, anti-candida, and high protein food…then be creative and make up your own dishes and add different spices. I’m guessing you should go for fresh fruits, veggies, beans, legumes, and lots of meats, poultry, fish, etc. Good luck!

  3. March 8, 2010 10:33 pm

    I’m not too clear on what anti-candida excludes either, but this girl might have some, or know of a blog that does:

    http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/recipes/

    And I feel like some Indian recipes could be tailored to this sort of thing, particularly super-adaptable masala recipes:

    http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/02/chana-masala/

    You can make that with chickpeas, turnips…I’ve had it with squash, and I always throw in a few tablespoons of lentils to up the protein.

Leave a Reply

