Skip to content

Sleeping like a dog

March 11, 2010

Y’all seem like dog experts.

If Hazel currently spends the night in her crate (open, not shut in), would it be stupid to take that away from her and try to convince her to sleep on a dog bed instead?

The thing is that her crate is huge, plastic, and gross looking.  We have a very, very small house so there is literally nowhere to tuck it away or blend it in with the surroundings.  I’m thinking a big, fluffy, pillowy dog bed would be cuter and probably more comfortable than crate (not that Hazel cares about the looks of the crate).

I might even sew one myself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    March 11, 2010 3:34 pm

    I was just looking at dog beds for Jaime! Look how cute this one is: http://www.amazon.com/Molly-Mutt-Duvet-Your-Large/dp/B001QTWMZK/ref=pe_63610_14494680_as_txt_2/

    Jaime loved his crate at the apt and slept in it just like Hazel did. It was his comfort space. When I moved back home there was no way I could fit the huge thing in my bedroom, so I got him a dog bed. At first he freaked out and tried stuffing himself under small spaces he couldn’t fit. That’s when I realized he liked something over his head-a cave like feel. So I put the bed in a very small corner (few feet space from the foot of my bed and the wall) and then draped a sheet from my bed to the wall- making a ceiling above his bed. He liked this and then choose to sleep on his bed. Of course it looked like a child’s home-made tent or fort…so after a few weeks I took the sheet ceiling away and he loves his bed!

    So a bed will work…but find a corner in your bedroom that is pretty enclosed and cave like. Just dont put the bed out in the open. Make it secure and if you can try the sheet thing at first….then gradually take it away.

  2. Allison permalink
    March 11, 2010 3:54 pm

    Is she pottytrained because of the crate? That might be the only hard part.

    I don’t blame you. I cannot wait till I can take down the babygates at our house once our dogs are completely pottytrained.

  3. rebecca permalink
    March 19, 2010 5:32 pm

    I am 100% with Melissa – it’s more of a “comfort” thing to be in a safe cave than anything else. If you already trust her out and about, you may try making a more stylish “space” for her. My dog (Sophie) chooses to spend her days laying in her crate, if she sees we’re leaving she tends to go in there anyway (she stays out all of the time, the crate is only for the housekeeper – haha just re-read that, no, we don’t put our housekeeper in the crate…ha!!/Sophie seems to like it). Soph is also very skiddish though and has some kind of crazy anxiety…so who knows 🙂

Leave a Reply

