Skip to content

Where I want to be

April 5, 2010

I love Sacramento.  Despite people’s complaints, it’s a nice place to live.  But.  After I get done with all this pre/nursing school business, I keep feeling more and more drawn to somewhere like this:

Or this:

Somewhere where large boulders outnumber large trees and I can grow cacti in my scruffy looking dirt yard.  It doesn’t hurt that I talked to one of my long lost friends yesterday, and she’s likely moving to Tucson once she finishes nurse-midwifery school in June.  We were fantasizing about her settling in and then hiring me when I move there a few years down the road.  Of course Mr. T would need to find a job somewhere in one of those southwestern states.  But he’s a smart fellow.  I’m sure he can figure something out.

To appeal to my southwest desires, I made green chile pozole stew tonight.  I roughly followed Molly Watson’s recipe, but used chicken instead of pork, canned green hatch chiles from TJ’s, olive oil instead of lard or vegetable oil, and added in some purple cabbage and blue corn pozole (which I boiled for an hour or so before I started cooking the stew).  I started everything on the stove, and then threw it in the oven for the last hour or so to cook (I end up burning anything I try to slow cook on the stove).

I’ve been bored by my own cooking lately.  School has been keeping me busy so we’ve been resorting to a lot of vacuum sealed indian food, stir fry, and taco type meals.  Things I can throw together in twenty minutes or less.  This meal was so much better it’s a reminder that putting in slightly more effort is worth it on occasion.

Paul's theme-appropriate western shirt was not planned

4 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    April 5, 2010 11:54 am

    i’m daydreaming of a rather rural southwestern life someday too!

  2. hanna permalink
    April 5, 2010 4:19 pm

    I love that first place

    • inoakpark permalink*
      April 5, 2010 4:57 pm

      Me too. You can move to the desert with me.

  3. Dad permalink
    April 9, 2010 1:32 am

    Yeah, I’d want to move 1,030 miles away from my parents, too.

    Yeah, I Google-mapped the distance.

Leave a Reply

