Skip to content

(Avoiding) finals week

May 16, 2010

I have two finals tomorrow and one on Wednesday, but it feels like I have weeks of school left.

To avoid studying as much as possible, I made crepes this morning with a goat cheese, yogurt, and lemon zest spread and warmed up blueberries and mulberries.

I’ve had mixed luck with crepes in the past.  I always use the same pan, so I’m fairly certain it has to do with the batter.  I’ve tried homemade batters before and ended up with a huge mess or way too thick crepes.  When they were selling it I used to buy the crepe mix that Trader Joe’s sold, which always worked really well but felt super lazy.  I tried a new recipe this morning (found on a quick Tastespotting search).  I think this may have been my best batch of crepes to date.  The flavor was excellent (better than the TJ’s mix) and they were light in texture, even though we only have whole wheat flour in the house.

Continuing on my avoidance of school (which is driving P insane), I brewed up some New Orleans style cold brewed coffee yesterday following instructions found here..  It takes 12 hours or so to brew so I just made some up, and have mixed feelings about it.

The coffee is suppose to be concentrate after the night of brewing, but I still felt like it needed to be at least 50/50 with the milk to taste more like coffee than milk.  This is probably my fault as I only have crappy Trader Joe’s decaf in the house right now.  I don’t normally like the taste of their coffee, and I will say that this process did smooth it out and improve the flavor significantly.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    May 17, 2010 12:51 pm

    yum! and beautifully photographed. yesterday was a pancake-kind-of-day in the rooster household as well.

  2. May 18, 2010 3:50 am

    what a cool ice cube tray!

  3. Dad permalink
    May 18, 2010 5:29 pm

    TJ’s coffee is undrinkable. I’m pretty sure it’s the stuff that everyone else refuses to buy.

  4. May 19, 2010 7:21 pm

    I’m a coffee junkie and I had to read about the coffee brewing process. I have never heard of coffee brewing for 12 hours. I’ve to try it now! Thanks for sharing!

  5. May 20, 2010 8:49 pm

    Those pancakes look so amazing!!! I will need to make some of my own!

    Twila
    blog.twilasvintageclothing.com
    http://www.twilasvintageclothing.com

Leave a Reply

