Skip to content

The perils of home-ownership and adulthood

June 10, 2010

Not to dissuade a friend of mine who recently put in an offer on a house, but sometimes when you own your own home it feels like a giant money sucking pit.  Our fridge has been slowly dying, but yesterday morning it started fluctuating between not working at all and a sound so loud it sounded like a train was running through our kitchen.

WordPress isn’t posting videos for me right now, but you can check out video of the train fridge on my flickr account.

So in a panic we drove around (in the short period of time we had between work and one of P’s many meetings) and looked for a fridge.  Of course, the stores we went to were all sold out of anything under $800 or couldn’t deliver anything until the weekend at the earliest.  I went home, locked myself in the bedroom to avoid the noise, and looked around online.  $300 and a really nice guy from craigslist later we had a new fridge in the house.

Of course, this morning we blew the circuit that the fridges were plugged into because it’s really hard to tell in our house which outlets belong to which circuit.  Paul, apparently unaware that the small red & black buttons on outlets often reset a tripped circuit, told me he’d pushed the button (thinking I was asking him if he’d pushed the circuit buttons outside).  We ended up calling an electrician, who charged us 80 bucks to push the button for us.  Oops.

But a stressful & spendy 24 hours later we have a new, quiet, functioning refrigerator!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 6:37 pm

    Whew! Glad it worked out for you. I would have flipped out too! 🙂

  2. June 10, 2010 9:07 pm

    Yoinks! There is definitely something to be said for having a landlord. I have been gathering the horror stories.

    This is the place I put an offer on:
    http://www.trulia.com/property/3006291298-1209-Rebecca-Ln-F-Santa-Barbara-CA-93105

    The likelihood if it working out are slim, but the process is enlightening anyway.

  3. June 11, 2010 3:58 am

    I have to admit I really dig living in an itty bitty apartment and can call the management company when anything goes wrong. My house was such a time and energy vampire that I really didn’t feel in charge of my life for those years….there’s pros and cons to each side of the housing coin. I definitely miss my garden.

Leave a Reply

