Skip to content

Food for Now & Later

July 4, 2010

I keep buying way too many beans at farmer’s market, meaning to can them.  But with the temp inside our house sitting at around 80 degrees we end up cooking them in a less heat producing way.  Since Paul is still out of town, I decided to can this morning (My Arizona born and raised husband doesn’t deal with the heat very well).  I bought the beans, dill, garlic, and carrots at the farmer’s market and followed recipes from here and here.  I used fresh dill instead of seeds because it’s what I had (and I like the way it looks), but I’ve heard it’s better to use seeds.  Maybe someone can tell me why that is?  I also added more garlic than the recipes call for because I like to eat pickled garlic, so hopefully that won’t backfire and make the beans too garlicky.  Two jars of beans have dill in them, while the other two have more chili powder and a dried chili from a coworker’s garden.  I’ll let you know how they turn out if a few weeks when they’re ready.

Since my house was about 100 degrees when I finished canning, I made a banana-mango-raspberry smoothie bowl for lunch.  If you’ve never eaten granola off of a smoothie before I highly recommend it.

Paul gets home later tonight, so I’m spending the rest of the day cleaning up and doing some GRE studying.  Hope everyone is having a good 4th of July!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

