Skip to content

Why I hate air travel (or one of the many reasons)

July 5, 2010
tags: ,

There are a variety of reasons why I hate airline travel, but one of them is the fact that when something goes wrong in the chain of events that are suppose to get you from point A to point B, you’re likely too far away to drive yourself home.

Paul was flying from Minneapolis to Denver to Sacramento today, but after his already long layover in Denver turned into delay after delay after delay, they ended up canceling his flight.  Everything is booked for tomorrow so people were being offered Tuesday flights.  Tuesday!  That’s two whole days away.  And no hotel rooms or flights on other airlines or anything were offered because supposedly the delays are due to weather.

He ended up having to buy a flight on Southwest so he can get home tomorrow (making the grand total for his flights for the last several days over $1000).

Ugh.

I’ve had a similar experience with this same airline (Frontier) several years ago.  I was stuck in an airport all day, never able to get on a flight (although my bag did after they swore it wouldn’t).  I never ended up going where I was going, and they were really huge pains about sending my bag back to Sacramento or letting me pick it up when it got there.  It took about a week and several trips to the airport to actually get it back.

The moral of this story is A) there are many reasons beyond fear that I hate flying and B) don’t book flights on Frontier.  And missing my husband makes me in a foul mood.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

