Skip to content

More from the garden

July 7, 2010

The garden seems to be kicking into gear.  I picked cherry tomatoes yesterday and there are lots more not quite ripe tomatoes on the vine (although many have evil blossom rot despite my meticulous watering skills).

The eggplants are tiny still.  They look deceivingly large here.  But there are many of them on the plants, which is a huge improvement from last year when I think we got 2 eggplants all season (in August or September or something).

Last night I cooked the dinner I meant to cook on the 4th (but didn’t because of Paul’s flying fiasco).

The burger meat is from Winterport Farm, our friend’s local, grassfed beef farm.  I mixed in some herbs and garlic from farmer’s market.  Grating garlic on my microplane is my new favorite way to incorporate it into foods without having to spend the time to chop it into tiny little bits.  The tomatoes on the burger are from farmer’s market, as are the cucumbers on the salad.  The tomatoes on the salad are the ones you see up in the top picture, and the lettuce is from our neighbor’s garden (which means I’m sure it’s covered in MiracleGro, but I’m pretending I don’t know that).  The salad is dressed in lemon juice from our yard, olive oil from farmer’s market, and balsamic (from TJ’s).  Yum.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brad permalink
    August 16, 2010 4:43 pm

    I have read that blossom end rot can be caused by a calcium deficiency. I have had luck correcting the problem with this product that I bought at Capital nursery on Freeport Blvd : http://organiclabs.com/organic_labs_home_lawn_garden_tomatomaker_product.htm

Leave a Reply

