Skip to content

The last week…

August 2, 2010

We were in San Diego for the last week, only I didn’t post anything about it before I left because I heard you’ll get your house broken into that way.  Only now that I think about it I’m pretty sure that people in our neighborhood don’t read the internet before carefully breaking into your house.

Despite my not posting, we did have a break-in (my first ever).  They came in through the window, made a big mess, stole random small electronics and my change jar (kept in a plastic Eiffel Tower).  The cop who came by to file the police report got some fingerprints, but I doubt they are going to recover anything (or catch anyone).  The cop’s response when I said my change was kept in a plastic Eiffel Tower: “The kind from Vegas, right?”  Yup.  I’m hoping news will get around that there isn’t much to steal here.

In other news, I am deep in GRE studying and applications to nursing school along with a slew of other personal goings on.  I also took a huge board exam last week that went fairly mediocre (and I don’t get the results back until almost November).  It’s all totally overwhelming and make me want to cry a little bit (or a lot), depending on the time of day.

I need cheerful things to keep me going.  Anyone have pictures of something cute or funny they’d like to share?  Distractions, please!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 6:49 pm

    Oh honey….that sounds miserable. I love IMMD for the bad days…http://itmademyday.com/

  2. aimee permalink
    August 3, 2010 1:39 am

    Hi there, I’ve been quietly reading your blog for a year now, and apologize that its taken me so long to speak up to tell you what an inspiration you’ve been to me. But your unfortunate news about the burglary moved me to speak. I’m so sorry that you came home to find your new home broken into. It is such an awful feeling to have your personal space violated like that. I know because our Portland, Oregon home was just burglarized a couple weeks ago… while we were in Montana getting married, nonetheless! We are also new homeowners with not much fancy stuff to steal. In fact we weren’t even entirely unpacked yet, and we joke that the robbers must have thought someone else hit up our house before them because our house was so bare. Anyway, it is a slow process to start feeling safe in your home and comfortable in your neighborhood again, but time does heal and we are already starting to feel okay again.

    Also- maybe it will help you feel better to know that your beautiful wedding and all the stories/information you shared really helped this complete stranger plan her wedding! We also had a Quaker inspired ceremony (since I was raised with a Quaker background) and did a simple little civil ceremony several months in advance. When I discovered your blog while in my planning process I was so thrilled to find an awesome girl with such similar ideas! I’ve also really enjoyed reading about how you guys have been making your new house into a home and getting involved in your community, as my mister and I are doing the same.

    Anyway, you have a quiet little fan in Portland who totally feels your pain with the burglary and is rooting for you. Hope that helps!

  3. August 3, 2010 3:32 am

    so funny, i was in SD for the latter part of last week too and felt the same about not posting that kind of info until i return. rotten that your place was broken into. luckily mine wasn’t although i do know how it feels to have someone take something from you as i’ve had a car stolen, actually i’ve had two stolen. such an invasion of personal space.

    love the photo you posted. the SD evening sunsets were beautiful as was the cool of the overcast mornings. i can also relate to your other situation since tomorrow morning i will be returning to work after almost three years of unchosen retirement. exciting and overwhelming. i think moving ahead is always like that. chin up, smile and enjoy each day. we all have so much to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

