Skip to content

Food therapy

August 5, 2010

bundt

While I wouldn’t say we are overwhelmed by the amount of summer squash we are getting this year, we’ve had a steady flow of the round squash we planted (they are some random Italian varietal that I can’t recall the name of).  Paul needed something made from our garden to take to a potluck yesterday, so being the nice wife I am, I cooked up a lovely bundt.  Seems potluck appropriate, yes?

I used the recipe recently posted on David Lebovitz’s blog, with a few variations.  I didn’t have enough sugar to use in both the cake and the topping, so I used maple syrup in the cake (1 cup instead of 1 3/4 cup).  I also lacked the powdered sugar for the topping, so I used slightly more granulated sugar and a 1/2 cup of cornstarch.  Mine never got the “crunch” the recipe mentions, but it tasted good anyway.

Also, I had to run to a thrift store to get a bundt pan to make the cake in.  I can’t believe I’ve never owned one before.  I love the way the cake looks and the expanded surface area for toppings is pretty exciting.

yum

Go make this cake.  You know you have some zucchini lying around (or a neighbor does).  Plus, if you are studying and writing and generally freaking out like I am, it will make you feel better to cook something pretty.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nickishungry permalink
    August 5, 2010 10:38 pm

    Mmmm! Looks delicious! I will have to try this out!

  2. hanna permalink
    August 6, 2010 3:59 am

    that looks pretty! yummy, too.

Leave a Reply

