Skip to content

For my mom…

August 7, 2010

My mom was concerned that I hadn’t posted anything here, on Facebook, or called her in a few days.  So here’s an update mom.  See!  I’m learning the math I never had to learn when I home schooled/did a failed experimental math class in high school!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elise Towers permalink
    August 8, 2010 8:09 pm

    Yay! Does it make any sense now?

    In my defense, I home-schooled you until 5th grade, and you had plenty of solving for the unknown school work. I blame your IMP class.

  2. Dad permalink
    August 9, 2010 2:14 am

    In our defense, Norman Mclean was home-schooled in Montana by his Presbyterian minister father and was only taught how to read and write. He ended up a Professor at University of Chicago and wrote “A River Runs Through It,” which has, in my mind, one of the best endings of a novel ever written:

    “Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it. The river was cut by the world’s great flood and runs over rocks from the basement of time. On some of the rocks are timeless raindrops. Under the rocks are the words, and some of the words are theirs.

    I am haunted by waters.”

    As part of your home schooling, we read that book aloud in the car as we were traveling for a month in Montana and Canada. Maybe you only remember having Barbara Kingsolver’s “The Bean Trees” read aloud while driving between Canyon de Chelly and the Hopi mesas. Maybe that book influenced your decision to help mamas deliver babies into the world.

Leave a Reply

