Skip to content

Tomato explosion

August 18, 2010

Suddenly we have a crazy amount of tomatoes.

This batch is what I just picked this morning, and doesn’t include a large bag that I gave to my neighbor or the pint or so I ate while I was picking them.  Also, there are more on the plants, but I planted the plants stupidly close together and the whole thing is like a tomato jungle and that makes them really difficult to pick.  So I gave up about a half hour and two really itchy arms later.

Some of them need to be put in cans (jars, really) and saved ASAP.  I think that’s a job for Paul since he learned how to can tomatoes last year while I was in Texas, and rarely cook/preserves anything else.

Also, maybe I’ll make another one of the supremely amazing tomato tarts.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    August 19, 2010 3:41 pm

    So pretty!! I can’t wait to have a backyard so I can have tomatoes too!

  2. Tom permalink
    August 20, 2010 4:30 am

    Hey Katie, a quick and easy way to deal with oodles of tomatoes is to quarter them, run them through a hand-cranked food mill, put the processed “sauce” in zip-loc freezer bags, lay them flat in your freezer and stack ’em up. You’ll then have summer fresh tomato puree that you can conjure, later on, into sauces and soups.

  3. hanna permalink
    August 20, 2010 4:33 am

    pretty

Leave a Reply

