Skip to content

Feed me

August 29, 2010

Last week I was told by my doctor that I (most likely, to be confirmed by surgery soon) have endometriosis.  It’s not the end of the world, but there is some evidence that it can be helped by a diet that is very low in gluten, dairy (especially cow dairy), sugar, red meat, alcohol, caffeine, soy, and preservatives/pesticides.  That’s pretty much everything normal people eat, right?

I’d already eliminated caffeine and we don’t eat much preserved or any pesticide-covered foods.  Sugar is the hardest thing for me.  I am seriously, horribly addicted to sugar.  It actually helped get this started that I had a HORRIBLE bladder infection the last week so I’ve been avoiding many of these food anyway (and had a good, painful reason to do so).  I’m also eating yogurt and goat cheese.  Some sources say this is cool, others are mixed.  Since I’ve been on antibiotics for almost two weeks solid now, I figure my body could use the yogurt.

I’m not good at diets where I have to eliminate everything, so I’m not planning to be totally strict about this.  For example, if I occasionally need a piece of chocolate I’m going to eat it.  Or if I go out to dinner and want to eat like a normal person, I will do it.  My mom said she’s not going to visit me anymore if I don’t make this concession.

But so far (mostly) so good.  I started eating this way last Thursday, so I’m about 10 days in.  I’ve eaten a few things that weren’t totally cool (a few sips of beer last night, a glass of wine, and a very gluteny veggie burger last weekend).

So far, Mexican food is my easy fallback.  Corn tortillas & chips are fine, so as long as I stay away from beef & cheese things work out well.  And last night I made turkey meatballs in a very hearty pasta sauce.  Paul ate his on pasta and I had mine solo.

One thing about this is that I feel like I’m way more starving than normal.  I feel like I’m eating a decent amount, so maybe it’s not enough calories at each meal?  I’ve been loading up on corn chips and LaraBars to tide me over between meals.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 1:05 pm

    Been there done that. Here are some things that helped me: Try sprouted grain breads. They are gluten free. They also make sprouted hamburger buns that are really good. You can find them at the Co-op and a few markets. Be sure to check the label. Some have wheat gluten in the ingredients. I’ve had good luck with Tinkyada Rice Pasta. The Lundberg brand isn’t as good. Also organic short grain brown rice. It’s easy to cook a pot and just keep it in the fridge so it’s always ready to add to just about anything. Using some grains may help with the “starving” feeling.

Leave a Reply

