Skip to content

Chili & Peppers

September 14, 2010

I don’t know about where you live, but here the weather seems to be confused.  I’m freezing and wanting the heater on in the morning, but by noon I’m blasting the AC in the car.  Must be getting close to fall.

Paul’s not really a big soup fan, but the cooler weather was making me crave a hearty soup, so earlier this week I made a batch of chili.  I half cheated and used some dry beans and then a can of precooked.  I don’t really use a recipe when I’m cooking chili.  I threw in tomatoes from the garden, garlic, an onion, and some spices.  Nothing too special, but it tasted good.

I also cooked up some cornbread (gluten free).  I loosely followed the recipe on Gluten-Free Girl, but used the Red Mill gluten-free baking flour instead of the flours they recommend, no sugar, Earth Balance for shortening, and rice milk.  Not really the same at all.  Paul thought it tasted funny, but I think he’s determined to say that about ever gluten-free baked good I make.

Last night I marinated chicken (the organic “chicken tenders” from TJ’s) in lemon juice and Tajin and bbq’d it for a few minutes on each side.  We’ve also been cooking these peppers on the grill a few time a week.  I love them.  The people who’ve been selling them at farmer’s market are done for the season and I’m super, super sad.

The salsa is made from tomatoes and peppers from our garden.  Cabbage leftover from a pH experiment I had to do for my biology class.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 11:04 pm

    I love chili – it’s probably the one hot hearty dish I’ll still make even in the Florida heat. It looks delicious with that avocado!
    I do wish our weather would turn just a little here. It wasn’t until hurricane Earl scooted by and sucked out some of this humidity that we got our first day under 90 degrees in 50 days. It’s also why I think our tomato plant gave us three fruits this year :/

    • inoakpark permalink*
      September 15, 2010 3:14 am

      Avocado is really good on chili.

      Usually hot is good for tomatoes. Is it the humidity that’s bad for them??

      • September 15, 2010 12:48 pm

        I think it was a lack of pollination this year. We had to move our plants from where we had them last summer (and where they exploded with more tomatoes than we could eat) thanks to our landlord fencing off 3/4 of our yard as a dog pen. Which is a whole other story… But yes, last year they were shaded among lots of flowers and this year they were alone and the leaves looked terrible because of all the direct sun.

  2. September 15, 2010 12:54 am

    Yum! The chili looks awesome! I have plans to make some of my own tomorrow!

  3. September 15, 2010 4:26 am

    I hear ya about the weather. Wearing jacket in the morning followed by using AC on the way home from work for lunch.

    Soup and chili sound wonderful. I love your to-do list on the side, btw.

Leave a Reply

