Skip to content

Tomato overload

September 18, 2010

I have about reached my threshold for cherry tomato overload.  Like I don’t want to pick or eat them anymore.  Nope.  This is a tiny, tiny fraction of the tomatoes on the vine.

I’m also sort of pissed at them for smothering out my big tomatoes.  I have ONE red cherry tomato plant that has literally engulfed the entire row of tomatoes, which is about six feet long and several feet wide.  It’s disturbing.  Those red speckled tomatoes are my new favorite, but I can’t figure out which plant is making them.

Since you can’t can cherry tomatoes, any suggestions for what to do with them?  I’m thinking some of the green ones are turning into pickles.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 2:21 am

    Sundried cherry tmatoes (half them, drizzle olive oil, dry in the oven), cherry tomato pasta sauce, pickle them, make them into salsa, make tomato “confit”, use them on kabobs, use them in a quinoa salad, mix them with mozzarell & basil for a caprese salad, cut them up and use them in brushetta.

  2. barefootrooster permalink
    September 18, 2010 2:56 am

    oooh! this is on my list: http://localkitchen.wordpress.com/2010/09/05/cherry-tomato-confit/

    i may have scrolled through this ENTIRE blog today. super inspiring.

  3. inoakpark permalink*
    September 18, 2010 8:51 pm

    Good call on the confit ladies! I’m making some right now.

Leave a Reply

