Skip to content

Homemade “Larabars”

September 19, 2010

I’m addicted to Larabars.  Paul is actually the one who started buying them, but he got sick of them ages ago and I’m eating at least one a day.  I can’t help it.  They fulfill my craving for something sweet and they are actually reasonably good for you.  But at around $1.50/bar they do add up.  And they aren’t organic (at least that I can tell).  Plus, I’ve been seeing people make them around the internet and the idea of being able to customize what goes into them a bit was appealing.

So, I spent $7 for a tub of dates, $3 on a bag of organic peanuts, and $1 on a small bag of dried cherries.  I really only ended up using about a 1/3rd of the dates, 2/3 the peanuts and the cherries.  So the total for making my “Larabars” was around $5.  That’s about 35 cents/bar.

2 cups of peanuts and dates went into the food processor with a few shakes of salt until they had this consistency.  I threw in about a 1/3 cup cherries about halfway through (though you will see I only did cherries in half of the batch).  I wanted to experiment with the consistency of the “dough” and I think the answer is that the picture above is a little too chunky still.  The bars tend to stick a little better if they are smoother.  In a mixing bowl I smashed all of the ingredients together with my hands to create more stick.

Then I dumped the whole thing into a baking pan (8×8) and smashed it all down so it was packed tight.  That went into the fridge for about an hour.

When they were cold I cut them into little rectangles.  I got 14 out of my batch, but I suppose that depends on how you cut them.  The finished bars went into the fridge in a bag.

Those bars in the back (the smaller ones), are similar, but have raw cacao powder and a bit of unsweetened coconut mixed in.  They almost taste like candy.  Almost.

Nutrition Info for the Peanut Butter Cookie Larabars

Nutrition Info for my Peanut Butter & Cherry recipe (as calculated on Spark Recipes)

14 Servings
Amount Per Serving

Calories 201.3

Total Fat 10.5 g
Saturated Fat 1.4 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.3 g
Monounsaturated Fat 5.1 g
Cholesterol 0.0 mg

Sodium 168.4 mg
Potassium 316.5 mg

Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
Sugars 18.3 g

Protein 5.6 g

Vitamin A 1.4 %
Vitamin B-6 4.8 %
Vitamin E 8.2 %
Calcium 2.2 %
Copper 9.6 %
Folate 8.8 %
Iron 4.3 %
Magnesium 11.9 %
Manganese 25.1 %

Niacin 15.7 %
Pantothenic Acid 4.4 %

Phosphorus 9.0 %
Riboflavin 2.2 %

Selenium 3.3 %
Thiamin 7.0 %

Zinc 5.1 %

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 1:29 am

    Oooh, I love me some Larabars. But they are so expensive! This sounds like a fantastic alternative, and I like being able to control what goes into them. Thanks for sharing!

  2. hanna permalink
    September 19, 2010 2:18 am

    Yum! I need to make these for school..

  3. September 20, 2010 4:19 pm

    Mmmmmmm, I love making my own Larabars. I like to dump a whole bunch of cinnamon and some pinches of chili powder with a few tablespoons of Dutch chocolate into the mix for a little Mexican chocolate action.

Leave a Reply

