Skip to content

Tomato confit

September 23, 2010

Just because I’m currently a hunched over mess doesn’t mean I can’t eat yummy food.  In preparation for surgery I made sure the house had smoothie making supplies, fruit, banana popsicles (which are actually really grossing me out…maybe too much sugar?), and some other easy foods for P to feed me.  A few days ago I made tomato confit with a bunch of my cherry tomatoes (thanks for the suggestion Ally & Amy !).  I used a recipe from Local Kitchen, but didn’t add sugar to mine.

While my throat is all scratchy from being intubated, I felt like I needed more solid food this afternoon so I made (with the help of Paul), an english muffin (gluten-free), with hummus, avocado, and the confit.

Very, very yummy.  Although my stomach is kind of out of wack and doesn’t really know what to do with food right now.  It’s still sad and making gurgly sounds.  There is really nothing super nice about the process of having surgery folks (except the potential for being healthier afterward I suppose).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    September 23, 2010 12:13 am

    your tomatoes look beautiful! mine got just a bit too toasty, but are still delicous. (ate them on top of homemade pizza dough with a little bit of mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, and basil just now.) hoping you (and your tummy) recover (and feel even better than back-to-normal) soon!

  2. September 23, 2010 5:55 am

    i am in love with the photo of the jar filled with tomatoes. yummy yummy.

  3. September 23, 2010 7:17 am

    Katie, if your stomach’s still bothering you try eating some dishes that have ginger in them. My mom made me several Japanese dishes after my laproscopic gall-bladder surgery that had ginger in them and it seemed to not irritate my stomach as much and it helped with stomach issues/nausea.

    Awhile back I posted this carrot-ginger soup recipe, it’s pretty easy and delicious. People seem to adore it with the chile butter (it really adds to the flavor); but I know you mentioned you had dietary restrictions, you could probably skip that part if need be.

    http://a-girl-and-her-fork.blogspot.com/2010/07/whats-up-doc.html

    • inoakpark permalink*
      September 23, 2010 5:09 pm

      That sounds really yummy. And I should probably send Paul to get me some ginger. I’ve been downing peppermint and licorice tea but ginger actually sounds better.

  4. hanna permalink
    September 23, 2010 3:08 pm

    Mm that looks really yummy!

  5. erin aka bows & sparrows permalink
    September 24, 2010 5:43 pm

    That looks amazing! P.S. I just sent you an email about the flexicord charger you won on my blog!!🙂

Leave a Reply

