Skip to content

Sushi & seaweed

September 25, 2010

After being basically bed & couch-ridden for days, I was really bored this evening.  P went to a work party thing and while he was gone I powered through the disgusting feeling I get in my bellybutton* when I do any sort of standing and/or moving and decided to make sushi.  I also made a really basic seaweed and cucumber salad.

For the sushi I tempura’d  veggies from our yard (squash & eggplant) and purple long beans we had from farmers market in a gluten free tempura (basically Bob’s Red Mill AP flour plus some salt and baking powder).  We also had carrots, cucumber, and avocado that were added to the rolls.

I sprinkled bonito and sesame seed flakes on mine, but P doesn’t like the fishiness.

Really yummy and worth the stomach pains (from the surgery, not the food).  It has become increasingly clear that we need to sharpen our knives though.  There was no good way to cut through the sushi without really butchering it.  Paul and I own two knives.  One is a cheap little thing meant for picnics and the other is a nice chef’s knife, but hasn’t been sharpened in the seven or so years I’ve owned it.  It’s kind of sad.

*It feels like someone is taking my bellybutton and pulling on it from the inside.  It is probably the most disgustingly uncomfortable feeling I’ve ever felt.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 4:48 am

    I’m in awe of your sushi prowess. It’s a world I’d like to dive into at some point but haven’t been able to muster up the wherewithal. With tempura, even?! And recovering from surgery, even?!! Total awe.

  2. September 25, 2010 2:19 pm

    That looks delicious! I love sushi!
    Hope your recovery is speedy!

  3. mom permalink
    September 25, 2010 3:16 pm

    Oh my. That looks so good.

  4. A T permalink
    September 25, 2010 7:56 pm

    Hey, you can take your dull knifes to any grocery store that has a butcher, (or if you have a butcher of your choice) and they will usually sharpen one knife at a time for free. You are kind of out of luck on the ceramic though, you have to send those ones back to the manufacturer for re-edging

  5. September 27, 2010 12:45 am

    Katie, do you slightly wet the blade of the knife when slicing (and remoisten after each cut)? It makes a big difference.

Leave a Reply

