Skip to content

Gluten-free chocolate cake

October 11, 2010

Yesterday was not a good day for me.  Hormones, among other things, were causing one meltdown after another (mostly of the crying, but occasionally of the arguing sort).  I decided that it might be a good time to break the diet, so P. and were on our way to Freeport Bakery (my favorite source of sugar, flour, and dairy for the last 20 years or so).  But we ended up getting there 10 minutes after they closed, which caused another round of crying.  Normally that’s not something that would make me cry, so you can see that I was feeling pretty crappy.

With store-bought treats out, I decided to scavenge around my house for ingredients that could make something that might satisfy my need for some comfort food (which in this case was sugar).  I came up with just enough stuff to make a half recipe of the famous Pioneer Woman, best chocolate sheet cake ever.

I did make a few variations in my recipe, due to the ingredients I had around the house, but it still turned out great (particularly the cake part).

-For one, I subbed Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose baking flour for regular flour.  I absolutely hate the way the flour tastes in batter (it tastes like raw beans to me), but the end result just had a really amazing chocolate flavor and the consistency was perfect–not too spongy but still really moist.  I almost think it’s better on day two, which I find to be pretty unusual for sheet cake.  It’s a little more dense today, but still moist.

-I didn’t have buttermilk, so I added vinegar to regular milk (she has directions for this in the recipe).

-I used a little less than the recommended amount of sugar in the cake batter.  I basically sweeten by taste, but I probably added 3/4 cup (plus a little more) instead of the 1 cup you’d normally use in a half recipe.

-For the frosting, I didn’t have powdered sugar so I used regular sugar and cornstarch.  I also cut the sugar down a lot in the frosting (I used maybe 1/4 cup).  My frosting ended up separating some, and I wonder if that was why.  I actually used a dish towel to soak up a layer of butter that had formed on the top of the frosting yesterday, which was gross looking, but probably made it a bit healthier!  The frosting was better today (after sitting in the fridge), than it was yesterday.  It almost tastes like fudge today.

-Finally, I used walnuts instead of pecans.  And instead of Hershey’s I had really nice, raw cacao baking chocolate, which probably didn’t hurt.

I haven’t been eating a lot of baked goods lately, but for those of you who aren’t doing stupid diets, this is an amazing chocolate cake.  I’m not generally a huge fan of sheet cake, but seriously the texture on this is perfect.  I had to pawn a bunch of it off on other people yesterday because I know anything left in my house is going to be gone by tonight.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    October 16, 2010 5:28 pm

    It was yummy.

Trackbacks

  1. gluten-free chocolate cake | Real Food Eaters

Leave a Reply

