Skip to content

A rare political moment from me…

October 17, 2010

I am rarely political on this blog in a “vote for my guy” kind of way.  But since I actually went so far as to put up a front yard sign for someone (my first ever), I thought I’d do a little PSA on here as well.

My area of Sacramento has two really sound candidates running (both far superior to our current council member).  I’ve listened to both of them speak and debate, and while I was kind of pulling for one candidate in the beginning, over the past several months I’ve changed my mind so much so that we’ve got a sign in our yard.

You can learn a lot more about Jay on his website, but here are a few things that I like about him:

  • He wants to create a version of the Harlem Children’s Zone in Oak Park.  It’s a really cool project and I think it could be great for my neighborhood.
  • He’s supportive of local agriculture and food access including turning empty lots into community gardens and legalizing backyard chickens.
  • He wants to create local job opportunities for residents, focusing on the health care sector and the med center within our neighborhood.
  • He makes an effort to come out to Oak Park events, including our farmer’s market.
  • No corporate or big union contributions, which means he doesn’t owe anyone (besides his constituents) anything.
  • He seems approachable and engaged whenever I see him.  He’s personally gone door-to-door in our neighborhood (and I’m assuming others in the district) to meet people.  He also hosts neighborhood phone conversations where people can ask him questions and he talks about his ideas.  I recently listened in on the Oak Park conversation and really liked what he had to say.

The post probably won’t apply to 99% of my readers, but if you live in my area and you haven’t made up your mind I would recommend chatting up Jay.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 4:51 am

    He canvassed a couple times at our old place off of Colonial Way in Sacramento. We had a good conversation about the neighborhood. I was really impressed with the way he came across.

  2. October 18, 2010 1:30 pm

    Sounds sane to me. The question will be, can he remain sane on the psychiatric ward we call a City Council? I hope so. Good luck folks….

  3. Suzanne Mayes permalink
    October 18, 2010 5:38 pm

    I’ve know Jay for a while and I’ve done some consulting work for him over the years. He’s a stand up guy and my choice for City Council, too. We had a sign in our yard and it “disappeared” twice! The next one goes in our front window…

Leave a Reply

