Skip to content

Chicken Piccata & Acorn Squash

October 17, 2010

The last week has been pretty brutal. Stress can go one of two ways for me–either I have absolutely zero energy for cooking, or I want to spend all day in the kitchen zoning out measuring ingredients and following recipes that don’t allow for stressful thoughts.  Here are a few of the dinners I made this week…

Earlier last week I made chicken picatta. I feel like we ate picatta a lot growing up, but I’d never made it before and I could believe how easy it was. I followed the recipe from Simply Recipes, subbing Bob’s Gluten Free AP flour for wheat flour and Earth Balance instead of butter.  I skipped the parsley and added kalamata olives and extra capers (we are big caper fans).

Not the greatest picture (damn flash), but it was really tasty and I was happy to see the gluten free flour browned up nicely (sometimes it doesn’t seem to want to do that).

Before I realized that our garden acorn squash were ready (!), I bought one at farmer’s market last weekend.  I baked it and then stuffed it with a mixture of red quinoa, vegetables from our garden (yellow bell peppers, green beans, and tomatoes), and onions and garlic.  I mixed a little bit of Earth Balance faux-butter into the quinoa mixture.  P. put cheese on the top of his, because the man can’t eat a meal without dairy.  It wasn’t mind blowing, but for an easy fall meal, it worked out well.  And it was vegan and gluten-free, for those who need that sort of thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

