Skip to content

Mulvaney’s B&L

October 31, 2010

Last night P & I went to a fancy-pants dinner at Mulvaney’s Building & Loan.  Paul was suppose to go with a coworker, but lucky for me she got sick (that’s kind of evil, but I’m cut-throat when it comes to getting good food).  The dinner was to honor the outgoing California Sec. of Ag, so there were a bunch of wealthy farm people there.  Patrick Mulvaney made a joke about the folks in the room being Democrats, when I think the opposite was actually true.  I don’t think I’ve been around that many Republicans in one place since I lived in Redding.

Mulvaney’s is practically everyone’s favorite Sacramento restaurant, but I’d had a less than stellar experience there a few years ago.  Last night more than made up for it.  We got there a bit late, but did snag one of the smoked salmon passed appetizers and a whiskey sour from the open bar before the dinner program started.  I also had a nice conversation with someone there (don’t ask me who) about my friend’s grass-fed beef ranch (I’m a pusher for their product).  Dinner started with a bread and salted butter, along with green salad topped with walnuts, pomegranate seeds, and Shaft’s blue cheese, aged in an old gold mine in Rocklin.  The rest of the meal was served family style, starting with pork shoulder with mashed potatoes and greens and halibut with smoked sweet potatoes and arugula.  Both were delicious.  The dinner finished up with butternut squash ravioli in a fig sauce.  I seriously would have eaten an entire plate of that, except that I was already so dang full.  It was amazing.

I get why people love Mulvaney’s now.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hanna permalink
    October 31, 2010 3:13 am

    Mmm that sounds so good!

  2. October 31, 2010 7:45 am

    I love your comment about Redding. Oh, and Whiskey Sours. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

